AB SLC 500 question

mbr-dk

Hi

I recently acquired an AB SLC 500 with CPU 1747-L532 5/03, 1746-A7 RACK, 1746-P PSU and software from a friend of mine who works at an automation company and I am planning on using it for automating my home brewery (Beer).

What I want to start with is to do temperature control (PID Ramp/Soak) for two of my kettles, mash tun and hot liquor tank, which are both heated with electrical heating elements (6x 1KW) for measuring the temperature I use PT100 sensors(4).
Today I am controlling them via SSR’s and with individual simple cheap temperature controllers from China. I would also like to be able to turn my boil kettle and pumps on and off via a external button connected to the PLC.

Will the above PLC work for this and what extra cards besides the 1746-NR4 would I need?

I am an Electronics engineer and have done some ladder programming years back, so I would need to do some reading up on ladder programming and the AB SLC 500 – Any suggestions on where to start?

Thanks,
Michael

Sounds like you will also need a digital output card to now fire the SSRs.

If you want to read buttons you will also need a digital input module as well.

You can find all for a pittance on Ebay.

You didn't mention anything about an HMI. How are you going to change or alter your settings?

But yes, absolutely more than capable of doing what you need it to do.

Damian thanks for your quick reply, any recommendations for what cards I should get for the digital input and output?

For HMI I have been looking at this http://advancedhmi.com/ as I have an old spare laptop - How would I connect the PC to the PLC for HMI?

Damian thanks for your quick reply, any recommendations for what cards I should get for the digital input and output?

For HMI I have been looking at this http://advancedhmi.com/ as I have an old spare laptop - How would I connect the PC to the PLC for HMI?