hi guys

yassine07400

Hi, my name is yassine-khelil CHELALI , I'm a student in Faculty of Petroleum and Chemical in BOUMERDES-ALGERIA department of automatic , specialty Electromechanical, 5th year engineering
My project is based on the automatic brake of the drawwork of drilling, combination between auxilary(electromagnetic) and principal(mechanic) brakes, I want to use the encoder but I don't know how I use it, please help me , the PLC used in the site is Allen Bradley 5/03 serie B 1746, but in my proposed solution I want to use S7-300, and integrate it with Allen bradley
inputs:
1- encoder: for the height and speed
2- toggel SW for the mechanical brake ( braking, liberate)
3- controller for the electromagnetic brake(ELMAG-CO)
4- the hand throttle, and foot throttle(faster than hand throttle ) used in determining the value of speed
outputs:
1- two solenoids ( enter, liberate ) the air in the pneumatic eign
2- auxilary brake circuit ( base transistor )
3- values of the speed
4- cutting the control signal for the automatic braking with the auxilary brake

and finelly the calibration of the system, limits for eatch brake( hand/auto)
my E-mail : [email protected]

:unsure:o_O

My project is based on the automatic brake of the drawwork of drilling,. . .
Would this also be called an "automatic brake for the winch on a drilling rig"?

...the PLC used in the site is Allen Bradley 5/03 serie B 1746, but in my proposed solution I want to use S7-300, and integrate it with Allen bradley.
I am familar with Allen Bradley SLC 5/03 encoder instructions, but not the Siemens S7-300. However, I am sure the methods are similar. The key is knowing exactly how your specific brand and model of encoder works - how it converts a rotary input into a series of numbers.

Last edited:
yes , I was in a drilling site here in algeria, do you have any ideas on this pleas , in the new systems there is a system called KEMS but I don't know how it's working,