New to PLCs, looking for tips/advice on conveyor exercise.

Zazoo

Hello, I'm a recent graduate who is starting a new job working with PLCs next week (primarily Allen-Bradley). My employer gave me a PLC simulation program (LogixPro) and a few exercies I could work through to gain some familiarity with PLCs priot to starting. My educational background is mostly microcontrollers and software, so it's taking me a bit of time to get used to programming with ladder logic. Ron Beaufort's videos were extremely helpful. I was hoping some of the experts here could offer their thoughts on some of my work/understanding thus far.

Below is one of the exercises I've worked through. The conveyor/vat setup shown in the attached picture was used for this exercise:

Completely design and de-bug a ladder control circuit which will automatically position and fill the boxes which are continuously sequenced along the conveyor. Ensure that the following details are also met:
  • The sequence can be stopped and re-started at any time using the panel mounted Stop and Start switches.
  • The RUN light will remain energized as long as the system is operating automatically.
  • The RUN light, Conveyor Motor and Solenoid will de-energize whenever the system is halted via the STOP switch.
  • The FILL light will be energized while the box is filling.
  • The FULL light will energize when the box is full and will remain that way until the box has moved clear of the prox-sensor

My ladder logic program is shown in the other image.

*Rung 0: Start logic.
The seal-in to start the process when the start button is pressed (the run lamp is used as a “run” flag)

*Rung 1: Motor logic.
If the system is in run-mode the conveyor will advance, but only if 1.) the proximity sensor hasn’t been tripped OR 2.) the full-lamp is not energized. This ensures that a full box will not stop the conveyor, even if the proximity sensor is tripped.

*Rung 2: Filling logic.