PLC Noob needing help

epic

I am completely new to PLCs and was given the task of figuring out all the components needed, and to buy a panel accordingly. These are the components that I know I already have:

- Allen Bradley Micrologix 1200 PLC
1762L40BXB ABS 24 in 24VDC 16out Relay 24 VDC Power
- Allen Bradley Power Supply
1606-XL120D AB 24VDC 5AMP
- Allen Bradley Panelview 300

The input power to the system is 480V 3-phase. I have 14 digital inputs at 24V each. I also have 10 digital outputs at 110V each. I understand I will need relays for these outputs. Additionally, I know I'll need some sort of motor starter for a hydraulic pump that runs off of house power (480 3ph).

I'm looking for any advice as to what components such as relays, fuses, safety modules, motor starters, terminal blocks, etc that I will need. Finally, I need suggestions as to where I might purchase these components.

Thank you.

A start

The next thing you need is a transformer to drop the 480 supply down to 110v to power your output devices and, I'm assuming, your 24VDC supply. Transformers are rated in Volt/Amps. You'll need to get one capable of handling ALL of the loads simultaneously.

Automationdirect carries some of what you'll need - I think they even carry enclosures now.

Off the top of my head, you'll need: an enclosure - How big depends on how much stuff you're going to put in it. The specs. for the panel devices will include the physical dimensions, the device's 'footprint'; a disconnect; some method of labeling/marking the wiring; DIN rail, saves a lot of time mounting stuff.

You may not necessarily need relays for all of the outputs since the PLC has its own. It depends on how big a load you're looking at.

I won't dig up links for all these but, here are some manufactures I'm familiar with.

enclosures - Hoffman
wire marking - Panduit, Brady
relays/motor starters - Allen Bradley, Cutler Hammer
wire guide/trough (to make things neat inside the pane) - Panduit