Question on Timers

MiPilot

PLC = Do More/Direct Logic

I am trying to write a program that will cycle a machine through a two processes. When it is first started, it will check to make sure that a cylinder is closed and then start the process.

First Segment: I have two 4 position switches that will determine the amount of time of the particular cycle. It would be either 15 , 30, 45, or 60 seconds.

When the respective timer times out I wish for it to trigger a air solenoid and start a timer for 10 seconds. When that timer times out, I am turning on a 2nd air solenoid that open a air cylinder.

When this is achieved and verified with a limit switch I need four more timers with the same time scheme as above...and the same switch setup as well.

Then the whole process would start over.

The problem I am having is that the timers want to be initiated with a momentary signal and I am try to use a maintained switch. Am I a complete novice at this and the deadline is approaching.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Steve

Hello Steve,

I think you will have to use your maintained switch to keep a DirectSoft timer running. A momentary contact can be used to start a timer, but then you must use a relay that also goes on at that time to seal in the timer. Otherwise it will run until the momentary contact goes off, then stop - not very useful. If you can post some of your work (screen print, picture file, PDF file, or ZIP your program and post it whole), then we can troubleshoot it for you.

Last edited:
You need to be a little more specific on the sequence. You mention turning on air solenoids but don't mention turning them off.

Does the limit switch you mentioned somehow verify that the cylinder is completely open and also that it is completely closed or is there some other mentioned to verify the closed state that you mention at the start?

What kind of 'deadline'? We certainly don't want anyone to be harmed.

The air solenoids are spring return.