As long as we are on the subject of motors.

Rick Densing

Our shop was doing some experimenting to determine the horsepower needed to drill a hole. If the motor is drawing X amps before drilling and Y amps while drilling, I figured that a decent approximation for the actual drilling is: V*(Y-X)*efficiency. Is this valid?

I have no good idea myself, but I do have a question: Why would you subtract the before drilling amps? Wouldn't that load always be present and wouldn't you really just need to look at the loaded amperage in your calculation?

Steve

Ok, fair enough. But, still...if you are sizing your drive train and using motor amperage measure the work load, don't you calculate the capability of the drive train according to the required motor horsepower and then use a safety factor multiplier? If so, then it seems to me that the upper work load value is the only one you would be interested in.

Please keep in mind that I have never done this before so I may well be talking out my ***.

Steve

If you want to split hairs, to calculate the true ouput power of the motor you would need to simultaneously measure input voltage, current, and power factor. You also need to estimate the internal losses of the motor.
P = 1.73 x V x I x pf x eff x 0.001341
P - output power in horsepower
1.73 - square root of 3 (for three phase systems)
V - input voltage, line to line
I - input current
pf - power factor
eff - efficiency
0.001341 - a conversion from electrical power to mechanical horsepower

The motor current will vary as the input voltage varies, so for small load change applications (like dull drill bits) input power rather than current is a more true estimate of output power.
Power factor comes into play when a motor is oversized compared to the load. On a lightly loaded motor a small change in load may not be cause an increase in current at all.

Thanks, Jim. That is what I am looking for. We only need a close approximation.