how to fix error s:1/13

JosephL

hey i am kinda new to this whole plc stuff but i am getting s:1/13 error (major error halt). i have recently switched the plc to a very similar machine but cant figure out why this error is coming up.

What make and model of controller ? It sounds like an A-B SLC or MicroLogix.

Can you clear the fault? Is it persistent, recurrent, or intermittent ?

it is a micrologix 1500, 1764-lrp processor.
it wont let me clear it at all it pops on as soon as it is in run mode

i have recently switched the plc to a very similar machine but cant figure out why this error is coming up.

What do you mean by "switched a PLC". Can you give us a description of the fault.
I assume that you can get online with the processor and retrieve the fault description.
Without knowing the fault description all we know is that there is a PLC fault that’s all. The more detail you provide the further we can assist.

Below is a processor fault just to give you a detail. In the project tree to go Processor status, once the Status window appears go to Errors, then you can retrieve a processor fault description. Once we know what the error description is we can get to the root cause of the problem.

FLT.JPG

Last edited:
the fault is s6:B8Bh with the s:1/13
it says it is a user defined fault but i dont know how to check what it was set to

so how do i tell what is wrong with it? i believe the fault light on the plc is a solid red light if that makes a difference

I looked up the fault codes for your processor. While "B8Bh" is not within the range of suggested values for generating a user defined fault, it doesn't appear to be a valid fault code either. Perhaps the firmware in your new processor is generating a fault code that your programming software (as well as the manual that I referenced) doesn't recognize and that is why it reports a structured text message for "user defined fault"?