For instruction

igor_gouveia

Hi guys,

I'm new in PLC world and I'd like to know how can I make a FOR instruction on RsLogix 500?
I'm using a Micrologix 1400.

thanks already

Use the forum search tool (not the google search bar) to search the forum for the key words FOR NEXT and you'll find lots of examples and also discussions about the disadvantages and where you should use loops and where you should not. On logix 500 you'll have to build your own loop with jmp and lbl instructions. Generally loops are used only with indirect addressing and only when you need to manipulate data in a single scan, for example, a sort or array math.

If you'll tell us what you are trying to do with the loop maybe we can help you with a better solution for your PLC.

Use the forum search tool (not the google search bar) to search the forum for the key words FOR NEXT and you'll find lots of examples and also discussions about the disadvantages and where you should use loops and where you should not. On logix 500 you'll have to build your own loop with jmp and lbl instructions. Generally loops are used only with indirect addressing and only when you need to manipulate data in a single scan, for example, a sort or array math.

If you'll tell us what you are trying to do with the loop maybe we can help you with a better solution for your PLC.

I couldn't find the examples that you said using the forum search, maybe I'm doing it wrong. Thanks for your help.

I don't wanna do anything with it by now, I just want to know how to use it in case I need later

well, in that case, here's a little DEMO exercise that might be useful ...

as TConnolly said, there is a lot of debate about where (and where NOT) these things should be used ...

in the meantime, working through the example I've shown should help you understand the mechanics ...