All kindas of Lost

MattS

Hello Everyone,
I am new to PLCs so if I sound like a newbie it is because I am. I seem to be having some trouble with my PLC programming. The idea is to have a system that self corrects it's self if the part is out of tolerance. I have a few variables i can adjust (Temperature, Extruder RPMs and Cut rate), but i only really want to adjust the cut rate due to the accuracy needed. At first i was thinking a timer but with timers not being able to import variables this becomes hard. I am open to all ideas but keep in mind i have a tolerance of + or - .5 oz. So accuracy is key. Please save me

usually when I want have a variable time .I use a compare >= and <= with an integer and the acc of the timer

there are many here that know about flying shears (i think thats what your trying to do) iff you will post what you have so far I sure some will jump in and help

I see what you mean buy "Flying shear" I am bombing my brain with it now. But you lost me on the Timer and compare. How do you get the Compare into the timer? or am i lost before that

Use an interger as your setpoint say n7:0 than compare that to the timer acc. Value

So your setup be like
Timer ON Delay
Timer T4:0
Time Base 1.0
Preset 0
Accum N7:0

Then you compare would look something like
Grtr Than or Eql (A>=B)
Source A N7:0
0<
Source B N7:1
0<

Where N7:0 is my variable time and N7:1 is my Altered time or something like that

Take a step back...

You can't move a variable (N7:0) to a Timer accumulator. Well actually you can, but you normally never would.

You can adjust the preset of a timer through a variable.
For instance:

Code:
MOV N7:0 T4:0.PRE

N7:0 could be a variable that you adjust on the HMI.
N7:1 could be another HMI variable that is the "ON Time". Use this a compare block.

Code:
LES T4:0.ACC N7:1 OTE Your_Output_Here

The above code is the equivalent of:

Code:
IF Timer_Accumulator < On_Time_Setpoint AND Timer_Enabled
   Then My_Output = 1      
ENDIF