Telemetry / RTU - Water Borehole Application

Andreik

Good day,

I've been a PLC Programmer for almost 7 Years now but neved did I encounter a Telemetry System before. I am about to estimate a "16 Water Borehole" project that are all within a 20km radius. The Main Station w/c is within the area is where the Main Controller & SCADA is going to be. The system control is actually simple; each of the 16 Water Boreholes are only designated with 32 Digital I/O's each. The pumps are basically ON/OFF with trip signal and the Water tank level monitoring is just determined by the usual Float Switch (low, mid, high levels). The location of this Project will be at Gaborone Botswana. For an overview, please see the attached document.

The problem is, I don't know where to start. I've tried browsing the Siemens website but I find it vague, tortuous and not helpful at all. If someone could give me an overview how Telemetry system works, the hardwares and softwares required etc. I will very much appreciate it. :geek:

Thank you so much,
Andrei K.

first you need to decide the method of communications. will it be ethernet or serial at each remote site? then you need to determine #1, the distance and any obstacles between each site and the master site. That will allow you to determine what kind of radio setup you would need. from there you would need to figure out which frequencies and such are available for use in botswana, and if there is no unlicensed frequencies available for public use you would need to purchase a frequency and licensed radios.