Running out of IP Addresses, what to do?

Short Circuit

We are installing a contol system with a ControlLogix PLC, PointIO, and 22 PowerFlex drives; only two drives connected at this time.

It is communicating with a customer's system via EtherNet and on startup they gave us four IP addresses to use; one for the PLC, one for the PointIO, and two for the two drives.

But they told us we will have to figure what to do concerring the other 20 drives.

What do you do in a case like this? I have never used EtherNet before so it is all new to me.

Thanks for your help.

We are installing a contol system with a ControlLogix PLC, PointIO, and 22 PowerFlex drives; only two drives connected at this time.

It is communicating with a customer's system via EtherNet and on startup they gave us four IP addresses to use; one for the PLC, one for the PointIO, and two for the two drives.

But they told us we will have to figure what to do concerring the other 20 drives.

What do you do in a case like this? I have never used EtherNet before so it is all new to me.xx

Thanks for your help.

"they" will have to give you addresses for everything since "they" assign them and not you.

Keep the drives and point i/o off their network. They should only want to talk to the PLC. Add another Ethernet card to the PLC. Use one for their network, and one for the machine network.

Thank you all for your replies.

I understand what you are saying by adding a second network module, the problem is, I think, the customer wants access to all the drives via EtherNet.

Thanks again.

the problem is, I think, the customer wants access to all the drives via EtherNet.
Well, then there are two possible solutions.

1. The customer reserves enough IP addresses for every networked device on the machine and makes sure those addresses will never be automatically assigned by his DHCP server to anything else