Panelview 300 to 400 upgrading???

sparkonaut

Hi all, I've not posted on here before and although I've been a maintenance electrician for 20 plus years I'm still reasonably new to the the software side of things! Anyway my reason for posting is we currently have 30 or so machines with PanelView 300 HMI's, (these are now no longer available) I have been told that we need to fit PanelView plus 6 400 terminals. Can anyone offer any advice as to how I go about upgrading the software from one to the other? Will I be able to do it if I buy FactoryTalk View Machine Edition software or has anyone got any alternative solutions to the problem? Thanks in advance.

As much as I hate to say it, you may want to look into the Panelview Component 4 inch. They operate off 24VDC, are color, and have embedded ethernet, serial, usb, RS-232, and RS-485. I hate to say it because they use Connected Components Workbench, which I don't particularly like working with, but it is free software. I'm pretty sure there isn't anything the Panelview 300 can do that the Component 4 inch can't. Despite the awkwardness of working with them, they actually make pretty nice looking screens and are impressive just in the fact that they offer embedded Ethernet at such a low price point (in case you wanted to upgrade your controllers at some point).

The part number I believe is 2711C-T4M. If they're available in the UK they'd be a really nice upgrade for you. They're lower cost than the Panelview Plus, the programming software is free, and you don't need any special cabling (programmed via standard USB cable).

Thanks, I will look into those, anything cheaper and easier sounds like a good idea to me! I did forget to say that my old panelveiws are connected to SLC 5/01 via a DH485 cable so as long as that will all still work!!??

I would also recommend looking into them. There is a lot of hate for the components on these forums, but I believe you basically get what you pay for with them.