Power a PLC using a 3-Phase supply

waleedqk

Hi,

So, i am new to PLC's so if i make a foolish comment please point me in the right direction.

So we are trying to find a PLC to which we can input a 3 phase power supply and specify that we want a third of the I/O pins to be powered through each phase. If that is possible please point me to an existing product.
If not, are there any alternative approaches that i can look into to obtain similar results.

Thanks

Hi,

So, i am new to PLC's so if i make a foolish comment please point me in the right direction.

So we are trying to find a PLC to which we can input a 3 phase power supply and specify that we want a third of the I/O pins to be powered through each phase. If that is possible please point me to an existing product.
If not, are there any alternative approaches that i can look into to obtain similar results.

Thanks

Well to answer your first question you wouldn't generally power your PLC with a 3 phase supply. You would use a control transformer to generate 110V to power the PLC or a Power Supply to generate 24V to power the PLC. The PLC is a logic controller, it controls the logix it doesn't directly drive anything with big power that would generally require 3 phase power.

I would add more but first of all it would be helpful to know just what you are planning on controlling with the PLC? Motors, solenoids, lights, etc... Also so information on your background will help. Are you an Electrician, an Engineer, are you familiar with Electrical controls?

The more information that you give us in regards to what you are trying to accomplish the more information and help we can give back. You will find a wealth of information here and people are generally willing to help but you will only get as much back as you put in.

Welcome to the forum.

Last edited:
So we are trying to find a PLC to which we can input a 3 phase power supply and specify that we want a third of the I/O pins to be powered through each phase.