First time AB PLC

Joel201

Good day,

This is my first project using a compactlogix PLC. what Power supply should i use if i am using a 1769-L32C PLC in the AB website i saw 1769 I/O power supplies and 1768 Power Supplies i am confused because it says I/O power supplies does it power the PLC also. Sorry for the super newbie question thanks for understanding.

For the 1769-L32 family controllers, use the 1769 series power supplies, such as the 1769-PA2. The power supply provides power to both the CPU and the I/O module backplane, but not to the I/O circuitry (sensors, actuators, etc) themselves.

The 1768 series power supplies are specifically for the 1768-L43 and 1768-L45 mid-range CompactLogix controllers.

Thanks for the reply sir..
I would also like to take this chance to ask if i can connect to a controlnet using the built in port of 1769-L32C or do i need to place additional modules for me to connect to a controlnet. thanks in advance

The 1769-L32C was an unusual controller, and not as popular as the 1769-L32E was. It has a single built-in ControlNet port.

You can connect it to a ControlNet network trunk by adding a ControlNet Tap, like a 1786-TPS.

If you are using redundant ControlNet cabling, and want to connect a CompactLogix, you need the 1769-L35CR, which has the redundant ControlNet media ports.

Remember that the RJ45 connector on the 1769-L32C is NOT ETHERNET ! It is a ControlNet Network Access port, used for connecting the old 1784-PCC interface cards.

Thanks for the help sir...
Can you give a manual or any pdf files that i can use to study controlnet and controlnet communication for example in my case i need to connect the 1769-L32C to a DCS that is connected in a controlnet thanks for the help again :)

Oh ok....