S7 fb to read in inputs and set outputs

JDCROCKETT724

Greetings,

I am trying to write a FB where I can simply dictate a start address of an input as an IN parameter and a start address of an output as an OUT parameter. Then, inside the FB, copy the necessary block of input data starting at the input address to my static variables for use as the FB code. Finally write the data to the outputs starting at the output address.

If I were to use my AB know how with S7 terminology I would have code that looks like this:
IN: start_input_address INT
OUT: start_output_address INT

copy: Source- I[start_input_address]
Dest- DIB0
Length- 16

-----------FB code here------------

copy: Source- DIB16
Dest- DIB0Q[start_output_address]
Length- 16

Certainly, this is not how S7 works, but how would you pros approach this problem. I would like to assume this is a common FB task in S7.

My background is as an AB programmer and I have been handed a Step 7 V5.5 Project to write. I am trying to grasp how to do some things in S7 that seem a lot easier in AB. I know I have to try and separate the two, but this can be real frustrating :sick:. I have spent all morning reading and searching how to do this.

Is it supposed to be dynamic, or is it that fixed addresses that has to be transferred ?
And are you talking about physical inputs and outputs, or is it memory internal data transfer ?

Trusty Jesper. I have been learning a lot from your posts. Thanks for helping us all out.

My inputs and outputs are static.
For instance I want to use 8 words starting at 316 for inputs and 300 for outputs.
Then do this again with another function block with addresses 332 and 316. How do I use these numbers as an IN and OUT of my FB?

Thanks
-Jason

I could do it the hard way where I bring in every word or double one at a time as IN's, but this just wouldn't look professional. Plus it would be good to know how to do this in the event I have to bring in large blocks of input data.