Help with Programing ASCII

JGunter

Hello I would like to know if someone might help, i am trying to program a AB 1769 ASCII card using a Micro Logix 1500 LSP and a Panelview 600 HMI.

If anyone would I will upload my RSS program and the HMI program so they might tell me what I am doing wrong, and go into greater detail of what I have been asked to do.o_O

PLC & HMI Program

I am posting my program if anyone wants to help.

I want to be able to enter a part number on the HMI

Then send that part number to a Telesis Engraver to engrave the part number on our product.

The part number will contain 9 numbers and the dash
examble 321321-000

AB Micro Logix 1500 LSP
AB 1769 ASCII card
AB Panelview 600

View attachment NEW_GSW.zip
View attachment TEMP_GSW.zip

Last edited:
DISCLAIMER: I've never worked with one of these modules before ...

personally I'd try entering the setup information shown starting on page 62 of the following manual ...

http://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/um/1769-um012_-en-p.pdf

it looks like AB expects you to use this module with a CompactLogix system – but it DOES say that a MicroLogix 1500 system will also work ...

when I opened the RSS file that you sent, the settings shown in the material above don't appear to be set in your program file ...

if this doesn't work, try telling the forum more about your problem ... are you having trouble:

(1) getting the data from the PV into the MicroLogix?
(2) getting the data from the MicroLogix out through the ASCII module?
(3) both of the above?
(4) or something else?

you'll have to break this operation down into bite-sized chunks in order to get it working ...

Thank you

I am having trouble getting the info in the card, On the PV when I press the button to send a change in data the info is going into the integer files. But not going to the card.

So the card is not sending the data to the Telesis Engraver.