Which USB to serial cable works?

etcetera

I'm trying to connect to a Micrologix 1000 analog, not having much luck. I have 3 different usb/serial cables here. 1 is a gigaware, not sure about the chipset. 1 is a Belkin F5u409v1, which I understand has the prolific chipset. Apparently that is no good although I did find a couple posts on the net saying it was good. The third is generic.

Is there a serial cable that is available today that will work? Might be time to try and resurrect an old computer or something. Hoping there is something available off the shelf somewhere locally.

I'm pretty new at this, and this is the first time trying to connect using something other than ethernet. Maybe I'm just doing something wrong in the software.

Software is RSLogix500 English version 8.2.

A scan in RSlinx turns up nothing, Autoconfigure get an error message asking to check cables.

When I try and go online in RSlogix500 It tells me the connected device is not a micrologix or SLC.

I've verified the Com port using device manager.

Currently set at 19,200 8 1.

Please Help!

Eric

I'm trying to connect to a Micrologix 1000 analog, not having much luck. I have 3 different usb/serial cables here. 1 is a gigaware, not sure about the chipset. 1 is a Belkin F5u409v1, which I understand has the prolific chipset. Apparently that is no good although I did find a couple posts on the net saying it was good. The third is generic.

Is there a serial cable that is available today that will work? Might be time to try and resurrect an old computer or something. Hoping there is something available off the shelf somewhere locally.

I'm pretty new at this, and this is the first time trying to connect using something other than ethernet. Maybe I'm just doing something wrong in the software.

Software is RSLogix500 English version 8.2.

A scan in RSlinx turns up nothing, Autoconfigure get an error message asking to check cables.