GE Fanuc 90-30 reverting config on power-up

gokuu

I have never programmed ge fanuc plc's prior to this current project, so I am a total newbie.

I have made a few small changes to an existing program on a 90-30 IC693CPU323 using VersaPro 2.04. The changes (both HWC and ladder logic) seemed to be good until I cycled power to the plc. At this point the program reverted to its prior configuration. I assume it must be loading from and EEPROM, but I can't find a way of overwriting it. I attempted to circumvent the problem by changing the CPU config to load logic from RAM instead of PROM, but regardless, the config still reverts after cycling power.

I see the option in VersaPro, "PLC... Flash/EEPROM..." but it is greyed out.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Make sure your battery is good. If there is no configuration in RAM following a power cycle the system will look for the EPROM.
Verify that there is an EPROM installed. It will be in the socket labeled "Program PROM" behind the module in slot 2. Remove the EPROM and see what happens.
90-30 systems will self-configure in the absence of a configuration file. You can tell a self-configuration by the addresses it assigns to the slots. The first slot will carry addresses 1 - 32. A module in the slot will use as many of those 32 addresses as it needs. A 16-point input module will take %I1 - %I16. A 16-point output module will take %Q1 - %Q16. The second slot will take addresses 33 - 64.

To add to Steve's excellent response.
If the system does have an EEPROM you can over-write the new logic and config to it, by selecting that option in the download dialog box. If it has an EPROM or PROM as supplied by some OEMs you will need to remove it and either burn a new one or maintain a backup battery in the system. Also look at the CPU hardware configuration parameters that have to do with 'Power up' and set them as needed.

Last edited: