Error communicating Simatic Manager to S7-400

gmueller

Let me preface this post by saying I am a total rookie/newbie in the PLC arena, so please forgive the lack of knowledge and/or use of correct terminology.

The issue: We have a laptop we use on our production line for troubleshooting and maintenance. The on-board network port was damaged and stopped working so I installed a USB network interface. I can ping the PLC and various modules. I can communicate with the AB equipment we have. I changed the interface via the 'Set PC/PG Interface' menu. The new NIC seems to work fine with everything except we cannot go online with a project in Simatic Manager. Whenever I try I get an error: "Online: Connection could not be established. The connection partner is not responding." It worked just fine on the old internal network port. I don't know where to go from here.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Gary

If you can ping it, then you probably already have an acceptable (probably static) IP address set. That's the most common thing I see missed.

You might need to disable wireless on the laptop. I've seen that sometimes even when the PG/PC interface is correctly set, Windows sends the data from Step7 out the wrong interface, because the wireless card has a higher internal priority.

Then, as much of a copout as it may be, has rebooting helped?

Oh, you said you had the correct PG/PC setting selected. What did you choose?

Yes, I tried many reboots with no luck.

After disabling the wireless and on-board port, the only choice I had in PG/PC was the USB port. There were 3 versions I think (I'm not in front of it at the moment). ISO, TCP/IP, TCP/IP(Auto). I tried all 3 but couldn't connect with any of them.

So far, it sounds like you're doing the right things. Not sure if that helps much....

TCP/IP is the one that I typically use.