Ab slc500

racear2865

Great Good morning
I am new to this so please forgive for any mistakes. I have an older machine that my Dad had in his shop when he untimely passed away. It is powered by a Allen Bradley SLC500 model # 1747-L20c. I finally found all the manuals and one cd with a program on it. I was able to get a friend to print out the rungs but no annotation. My problem is that I was able to get the machine to run until this morning. I am getting a Comm error (STS)---SLC Error code :10H. The cpu is showing a blinking fault led. I do not have RS Logix 500 but I have ordered a hand held programmer 1747-PT1. I do not know how to reset the fault. Hopefully some one can help me here.
racear

Apparently the SLC ladder program has been swapped to a different Revision level that is not compatible with the CPU revision level. Here is the "10 h" Error Code definition:
SLC Controller Major Error Codes
Code (Hex) Description
0010 The processor does not meet the required revision level. This non-user error occurs when going to run.

The revision level of the processor is not compatible with the revision level for which the program was developed.
RSLogix 500 - Copyright Rockwell Software

You can reset a Major Error Fault from within the RSLogix 500 software. There should be a way to reset faults with the Hand-Held Termianal. I am searching the HHT User Manual now.

The HHT uses Function Keys that are re-defined at each sub-menu level. I think the "Clear Processor" (CLR_PROC) command is what you need. Using the HHT, that would be this series of function keys: F5-Utility, F1-Online, F3-Attach, F5-Clr_Proc.

Also, if you go to the display of the Status (S2) file, you can clear a fault this way:

C
Word S2:6. Fault code. Clear the code at this display by setting S2:6 to
0. Press the
[F1], "ADDRESS", type in the address of the fault code, press
[ENTER], type 0, press [ENTER].