Micrologix 1400 to Panelview C600 via Modbus

Hemlock

I'm working with a Micrologix 1400 and a Panelview C600. I can get them working together fine over ethernet, but am having trouble getting the same functionality over Modbus. When I verify the project, all the tags show an error that the addresses, data types, or controller names are incorrect. I suspect the issue is with the definition of the coil, contact and registers on the PLC. I'm pretty new to Modbus, so let me know if there's something obvious I'm missing.

Hemlock said:
...I suspect the issue is with the definition of the coil, contact and registers on the PLC...

Have you the channel in the ML1400 configured for Modbus RTU Slave?

Are the Data Files created for "Coils", "Contacts", "Inputs", "Holding"?

What Modbus addresses are you using in CCW?

An example would help.

Regards,
George

Why would you use Modbus RTU serial between these devices ?

The PanelView Component terminals can address the same MicroLogix registers over DF1 serial that they can over EtherNet/IP.

Unless this is for a protocol test project, I don't see a reason to do it.

As George mentioned, in general to configure a MicroLogix 1400 as a Modbus RTU Slave, you define a different Integer (N) data file for each Modbus memory type. The most common one is Holding Registers, often referred to as "4xxxx" memory.

I have set up the data files for coils, contacts, input and holding registers. The project already uses Modbus on another channel. I wasn't aware that the PLC could be configured as a master on one channel and a slave on another. I hope to be get back to this today and give that a try.

I hadn't really though about the "why" Ken?

Hemlock,

Now I realize you felt constraint, protocol-wise, to what was already setup on the other port...

Hemlock said: