S7-1215C data is being reset even when retain box is checked

RonJohn

Lifetime Supporting Member
Good day folks. I have a suspicion that my issue is self inflicted but wondered if someone could help me figure the source of my troubles. I'm using S7 Basic V13 to program an S7-1215C V3.0 PLC. I am currently testing my program & hardware prior to shipping to my customer.

My setpoint entry data come from a third party HMI. Setpoint min/max values are stored in the PLC. The PLC performs a limit check and updates the actual setpoint. All of this data are in DBs and I have checked the retain box.

On occasions where I've made changes, save the program and downloaded to the PLC, I will sometimes be prompted to stop the program scan to download. Upon restarting, I see min/max values reset to 0 as well as setpoints.

I'm still learning the ropes with Siemens. o_O Other posts involving similar issues were of some benefit, but I know many issues are PLC/software version specific. I'm wondering if I'm doing something out of order when it comes to saving my program / making changes / downloading. Please advise as to proper procedure if this is the case.

Or is my issue with initial values (which if not set, default to 0) overwriting my retained values? I wouldn't think so as this would make the retain checkbox a moot point. I'll stop pondering at this point and wait for answers.

Thanks in advance.

you maybe initialize the block upon downloading. in tia 13 there's option to download without initialization i think. try that.

or to see if retention is problem try to put some code in OB_Retentive_Lost or something similar (ob that executes when retentive data is lost)

you maybe initialize the block upon downloading. in tia 13 there's option to download without initialization i think. try that.

or to see if retention is problem try to put some code in OB_Retentive_Lost or something similar (ob that executes when retentive data is lost)