Add Wago IO module to a Modicon PLC

djité

Hi Plctalkers.

I am kind of new with the schneider electric interface on unity Pro. I have my PLC with 4 NOC cards.
2 for exchange with others PLC ( I guess I will use IO scanning)
2 connected to remotes IO wago.

My questions:
-for the communication PLC to PLC is it better to split the input and the output? (in IO scanning, add a line for the input and a line with the same IP for the output)

-should I, in my Communication Configuration add a network for each NOC card? one for the CPU, and 4 ethernet networks for the 4 NOC cards.

-How to setup the wago remote IO module? I have tried on the DTM browser but I am still unable to exchange data with it.(i have checked the address, and everything seems fine).

Thanks.

I would use io scanning to interface to the wago io
I can't see any real benefit in using multiple lines for io scanning except if you want to read and write at different rates or you want to control the read and write individually

One comment to add to Geoff's is that if the remote device does not support Modbus function code 23 (Read/Write) then I recommend breaking out the IOScanner lines.

IOscanner will use, depending on the entries in the config table:

Read - function code 3
Write - function code 16
Read/Write - function code 23

If the read/write is selected, and an error is returned, IOScanner tries then to break out the requests in separate read/writes, issuing a fc16 (write) then immediately an fc3 (read). This is where the trouble starts - I have not had good luck with this fallback behavior and usually end up with problems over time. I think it has to do with how the error is detected, but anyway, I have learned to split out the lines to separate reads and writes if the other device does not support fc23.