PLC Static Analysis

awillard

I am a software developer (with absolutely no experience in the world of PLCs), and doing some research on PLC static analysis tools.

Basically my question is, do any tools exist to conduct static analysis of PLC (ladder logic) code? Looking for common bugs or flaws, incorrect practices, security vulnerabilities and so on. Specifically for RsLogix5000 Allen Bradley PLCS. Google research only turned up two products.

https://arcade.embedded.rwth-aachen.de/doku.php?id=arcade
Which appears to be free, but does not support RsLogix5000

http://www.itris-automation.com/plc-checker/
Supports RsLogix but is 'cloud based' so appears such things exist but is there anything else? Freeware especially.

Thanks!

For AB I use the Emulate (but you have to buy it) for larger programs. But for smaller logic I simply use myself, scanning the logic just like the PLC will and trying to detect any potential problems. For the larger programs there are some simulators that will simulate tank levels and flow etc but they are very expensive. For the larger programs I will sometimes write a SIM routine and put some code in to do basic simulation. For example if a water inlet valve is open then add 1 to the level input every few milli-seconds.

Welcome to the forum.

Personally, my company and i both agree on this, never let the cloud touch
the plc and production equipment, to much risk involved with the system being hacked and causing major damage.

I never store information on the cloud. Too much risk on my part by storing company information on it.

regards,
james

Thanks for the replies everyone.

Follow up question: Are there any utilities available that can open up and work with PLC code? I'm looking at some files in *.ACD, *.apa, *.mer, and *.dnt formats. I'm thinking these are proprietary file formats for RsLogix, is that correct?