Very easy question from a beginner!!

emrahbozkurt

Hello everyone,

I am very new to PLCs and I have a Siemens Simatic S7-200 for my project. I have a tank in which a process occurs. This tank becomes hot after some time and in order to control its temperature I use a temperature detector. This detector sends the temperature data to the PC and the PC records the values. Then I have to read these temperature values from the computer and when it gets above a certain value, I have to run a program on the PC which sends data from the serial/parallel port of the PC to the PLC in order to operate a pump that pumps the chilling water to the system for cooling it down. The problem occurs here!

How can I send the "temperature is high" signal from the computer to the PLC ? (I mean the connections, the hardware thing?) And how can I operate the pump when the PLC gets the "temperature is high" signal from the computer? (I again mean the connections.) How should I connect the pump (220 V) to the PLC output? And how can I connect the computer to the PLC input for sending "temperature is high" signal??

I would be very glad if you could help me in this desperate situation.
Thanks very much for your time.

Emrah

Hello Emrah!

Let's see if this would help.
In the software part: connect temperature input value to a comparator which compares this to a specified "high level setting". Use greater than or equal to function then connect it to a digital output. Choose an address for DO, (hardware part) from this you can determine which DO module terminal you should connect the wire to the pump's start command input. As far as I know, S7-200 has a built in 4 DO.

All signal communications with your PC will be through your RS232 (serial port) or MPI cable. When connection between PC and PLC is established, you can force values from the PC.

Zarah

I need more descriptions

Hello Zarah,