Using WonderWare to Ping an IP address

SandwichMagic

Hey Everybody. I am an intern at a production facility in our integration department. One of my major projects this summer has been the development of a Wonderware Intouch application for our office that displays status information of every PLC in the plant connected to our network (about 70). This has so far been a great success, even preventing a bit of downtime from a tripped breaker or two. Recently we had an ethernet switch failure, which was quite a big deal as you can imagine. While it should be pretty obvious there is a switch problem (that being that all the PLCs connected to a switch drop out at the same time) the kind of end goal for this application isn't really to help us up here, but to eventually put another thin client running the same app in the maintainence shop. For this reason, I am trying to make it as user friendly as possible so we don't have to jump through hoops to know what is down and where.

My boss has discussed with me about creating a button in our application for each ethernet switch, where when you push the button it will ping the ethernet switch and display something (a light, piece of text, or some form of indication) if you get a reply. I suppose my question is can this be done? My boss said something about changing something to HTML but I wanted some advice from experts before I dive off the deep end and mess up my application (I've already had to rebuild it once, not too interested in having a third go). I have searched the site and google, and the only result I have come up with has been a link that looked all sorts of sketchy, to the point of where I dont even want to investigate.

I seem to have misplaced the paper that I wrote down the version information, but I am pretty sure this was Intouch version 10.6 with Archestra IDE version 3(ish?). I will provide exact version numbers if they prove necessary.

Thanks to anyone for any input!

Regards,
SandwichMagic