rslogix 500 msg instruction

don2405

I am new to using the rslogix 500 msg instruction, I am getting problems setting it up.
I have two a slc 5/03,s connected to ethernet via 1761- net eni, both devices seen on rs linx.

I want to have an input triggered in one plc and the output come on the other plc, after then i will try the communications monitoring (heartbeat) setup(with help from this site.

On the message instruction I configured:
Read/write: Write
Target device: 500 cpu
Control block: N7:0

SETUP SCREEN

table address: N7:0
size element: 1
channel: 0
target device
timeout: 5
table address: N7:1
Node: 0

No success, I got this message on the setup screen: no ip address configured on network.

Please, can i get some pointers?

Last edited:
This is an intermediate difficulty programming challenge. I have a handful of comments for you.

1. The Control Block for a MSG instruction that uses the SLC-5/03 serial port is 14 Words long. If you are planning to use N7:0 as the start of your Control Block, you need to reserve N7:0 through N7:13. Your actual data payload must use different memory addresses.

I typically do not use the same data file for my Control Blocks as for the actual data payloads, and I use separate data files for data I'm transmitting and data I expect to receive.

2. Sending an outgoing message via a 1761-NET-ENI requires you to use the DF1 Address : IP Address table inside the Net-ENI. You need to have configured the IP address of the target device equivalent to DF1 Node 0 in the Net-ENI utility or by using a configuration message inside the SLC-5/03.

Configuring the DF1:IP table is described in the 1761-UM006 user manual for the 1761-NET-ENI on page 4-6 and in Chapter 5.

3. Remember that the Net-ENI has only a small number of TCP connections it can handle; two incoming, two outgoing, and two either way. If this is the only MSG that's outgoing, you should be OK.