PLC code fault finding approach

taward31

Hi all,

I've been tasked with finding a glich in a program/programs... A barcode data array is moved through a line where pallet strapping and shrink wrap is occurring... The barcode is the decisive factor for determining the number of straps or yes/no to shrink wrap....

The data passes through 4 plc's from start to finish... 3 of these plc's have been programmed very poorly and have few comments and the comments are in Korean...

There is an intermittent fault which causes a wrong barcode to be associated to the wrong pallet causing the wrong number of straps etc

I am by no means a beginner to Plc code,

But what I would like to know does anybody have any good work practices about how to go about solving this issue,

My only theory right now is that it's gonna take a lot of debug hours to track everything back considering the fact it only occurs around 20-30 times in an 10 hour shift,

Would love to hear people's opinions

Thanks in advance!

When an automation task is split between controllers, that is the worst.

If possible log relevant values from all controllers, and use the same timestamp in all controllers.
If possible, log with cycle precision, so that every single state change is logged. To save log memory, only log when a change is detected.
That gives you a chance to pinpoint where the problem is located, if not exactly what causes the problem.

What tells the strapper/wrapper that a pallet has moved into/out of a zone?
Maybe a sensor is double-pulsing and the pallet data is clocked more than one time per pallet/zone transition.
So, as JesperMP advises, log. Log zone/data transitions with a synced timestamp - if possible.

Since it happens that frequently, I would set up my laptop and camp out at the line.

When the error happens, stop the production on all the machines long enough to save the online copy of the each plc program with the data.
Where is the data transfer failing, specifically which plc?