RS Studio

tcf24m

Hi I am very new to the automation industry...I have been working at Sanden Machine for about 10 days. My job is the HMI designer...this company is moving from a micro controller based system to plcs and it is my job to learn the software for developing the HMI interface...but I am having trouble importing PLC tags from a micrologix 1500 into RSView...when rstudio is opened up it creates a default OPC server RSlinx Enterprise....it seems as thou if you are using the ML5000 there is no need to use use RSLinx...but if your try to import offline ML 1500 tags (.rss) it won't let you...so I am stuck...I can't get the PLC tags into my HMI...Does anyone have experience doing this. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thomas Franklin

Last edited:
Sounds like you're using RS Studio ME

In order to commnicate between your offline HMI application and your offline PLC application, you need to setup the HMI communication offline. You'll find the Communication Setup dialog box in your Application Explorer under RSLinx Enterprise.

The "Local" tab displays how you have setup your device shortcut(s) for your offline programming and the Offline Tag File shows what PLC application you've linked to. If you have setup a device shortcut and the offline tag file correctly, then you would be able to browse the offline PLC tags from the tag editor.

Another hint with Studio ME, Make sure you properly reference your device alias'. You should be creating an alias to each device you are communicating with in Linx Enterprise, that is the 'Path' to the tags in the device.

One other thing, with ME, SHUT DOWN RSLINX. Regular Linx and Linx Enterprise should co-exist, but they don't always, and some very wierd problems I've had have been tracked down to that.