Uploading DeviceNet and RSLinx files from PLC?

russg

Hi I'm new to Allen Bradly. I've managed to uploaded the PLC code, but need to diagnose the devicenet card. How do I upload the configuration so I can see the device net card in RSLinx and Device Net?

Thanks

Hi russg,

what PLCs/Devicenet cards do you have?

Generally you need RSNetworx for Devicenet to upload the configuration, if you do not already have a file. Latest version I have is 21.

If you are working on ControlLogix or CompactLogix, these details can be gathered through the Hardware configuration, by right-clicking on the Devicenet card, properties, and RSNetworx and gathering the network information and saving to a .dnt file.

If you are on PLC5 and have a 1771-SDN scanner, then you will need a Devicenet cable (USB to Devicenet) and attach your cable as a piggyback to the network connections on the scanner - they used to do a piggyback cable for these, but they are obsolete, although I picked one up a couple of years ago and it does make the job easier.

Hi, thanks for your reply.

I have a SLC 5/05CPU with two devicenet 1747-SND.

I'm connected through the ethernet port. I've managed to see the device net cards by adding a the cards to my RSLinx and a pass through the ethernet port.

The problem is on the 2nd devicenet card. It has 16 nodes on it's network that are all inverter drives.

The card is showing an error 91. I wasn't seeing all the nodes until i re-powered the PLC. All nodes are unrecognizable and I don't seem to have MD in the DeviceNet software to see detailed diagnostics.

At the site they have changed a couple of DeviceNet modules on the Inverters. One of them fixed a problem, but they are still having problems with a couple of nodes.

I have not used the 1747-SDN card but assume it is similar to the 1771-SDN.
Similar with the SLC5/05, I have not used the ethernet version.

Error 91 is "Bus-off condition detected on comm port.
Module is detecting communication errors.