You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 17th, 2007, 08:15 AM   #1
Marc
Member
United States

Marc is offline
 
Marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 430
AB SLC5/05 Remote I/O Block transfers

Here is my setup

2 1746-A4 4 Slot racks
2 1746-P1 power supplies
2 1747-L552 Processors
2 1747-BSN backup scanner modules

Looking at
1 1746-a13 13 slot rack
1 1747-ASB remote I/o adaptor
2 1746-ib16 input modules
4 1746-ow16 output modules
2 1746-NI8 modules
2 1746-NO8I modlues
2 open slots

In that order on the 13 slot chassis.

I have established the high speed serial link (BSN-BSN) and the remote i/o link between the BSN modules and the ASB module.

I have the discreet transfer working correctly configured as 4 full racks in my g-file configuration fro the BSN modules.



I have also gotten 1 channel of the analog output working via BTW instruction but I can't figure out how to address the other channels of the module or other modules in the chassis.



Anyone able to throw me a bone? This is the first time I've taken a whack at remote I/O and I'm not sure if I understand the addressing scheme.

Thanks in advance

Marc

Last edited by Marc; January 17th, 2007 at 08:18 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2007, 11:23 PM   #2
rPraveenkum
Member
India

rPraveenkum is offline
 
rPraveenkum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chennai
Posts: 876
Read this manual in chapter 7

http://support.elmark.com.pl/rockwel...ra/1747622.pdf
__________________
.................................................. .................................................. ..........................................
.................................................. .................................................. ..........................................
PRAVEEN KUMAR
http://www.praveen.envy.nu
Life is like butterfly, handle with care - Praveen
  Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2007, 09:07 AM   #3
Ron Beaufort
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Ron Beaufort is offline
 
Ron Beaufort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,320
Greetings Marc ...

if you need detailed help with this, we need more information ... please tell us how each and every one of the 24 DIP switches are set on your ASB module ... we also need to know whether you're using your analog modules in "Class 1" or "Class 3" mode in order to completely nail this down ...
__________________

2-B ?
Best regards, ----+----] [----+------------( )----
Ron | |
PLC Training Boot Camp | 2-B |
+----]/[----+

I once was lost, but now am found, was blind, but now I see.

  Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2007, 10:35 AM   #4
Marc
Member
United States

Marc is offline
 
Marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 430
Thanks Praveen, I already have that manual.

Hi Ron,
I was hoping you might jump in on this one.

Dip switch settings are as follows

SW-1 1-6 on for logical rack 0
7-8 on for logical group 0
SW-2 1-2 on for 56k
3 off (reserved)
4 on for pri/comp chassis
5-8 off for asb module image size (32)
SW-3 1 off (do not hold last state)
2 on restart lockout
3 on restricted
4 on last chassis
5-6 on/off 1 slot addressing
7 off Block transfer
8 on save mode

I was going to use the analog modules as class 1 devices. I thought that you could not use as class 3 on remote I/O but I could be mistaken.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provided. I have learned a lot of things reading your posts and I look foreward to learning more.

Marc
  Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2007, 12:12 PM   #5
Ron Beaufort
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Ron Beaufort is offline
 
Ron Beaufort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,320
Greetings Marc ...



sorry that I don’t have enough time to nail everything down properly ... but this should be enough “bare-bones” information to get you talking to the first NI8 module ... I tried to show how the addressing works ... hopefully this will be enough to point the way ... please post again if you have specific questions ... I hope to have time to finalize this - but the bo$$ has work for me to do ...






good luck with your project ...
__________________

2-B ?
Best regards, ----+----] [----+------------( )----
Ron | |
PLC Training Boot Camp | 2-B |
+----]/[----+

I once was lost, but now am found, was blind, but now I see.

  Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2007, 02:09 PM   #6
Marc
Member
United States

Marc is offline
 
Marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 430
Thanks Ron,

It's work just like you said.

I am interested in how you determined the rack, group, slot, values since these would not have been what I would have guessed.

My BTW to my output module seems to work no matter what I put in for a buffer file address. Why is that?

I guess I'm not understanding how to count up to the module location and how the buffer file is utilized by the ASB. I know I'm asking a lot but I am going cross eyed trying to get a grasp of the details from the manual.

Reminds me of trying to explain how to locate an i/o point on a PLC5 with half slot addressing to someone who had never heard of octal numbering.

I know once it clicks I'll have it forever but till then I appreciate you taking the time.

Marc
  Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2007, 03:21 PM   #7
Ron Beaufort
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Ron Beaufort is offline
 
Ron Beaufort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,320
Quote:
Thanks Ron, It's working just like you said.


I love it when that happens ...

Quote:
I am interested in how you determined the rack, group, slot, values since these would not have been what I would have guessed.


the details are in the ASB User Manual - but as you said, that’s not the easiest thing to interpret ...



the secret handshake that confuses most people is that when you put an ASB module in the first slot of the chassis, that slot is no longer “slot 0” anymore ... most people tend to think of it as “slot 0” since that’s the assignment when you have a processor in the first slot ... but ... when an ASB is installed, the first slot no longer has a number at all ... the NEXT slot becomes “slot 0” ... keeping this straight is hard enough when you’re in front of the system ... whenever I play “Mr. Answer-Man” over the phone, I always make the guy on the other end use LETTERS for the slots rather than NUMBERS while we’re discussing the module layout ... notice that using that system, your first NI8 module is located in “slot H” ... that happens to be “group 6” ...



the “SLOT” entry in the Block Transfer instructions only comes into play when/if you’re using “two-slot” addressing ... otherwise you always just enter that as “0” and get on with your life ...








if I understand your system correctly, you really only have one and a half “racks” to deal with - not four FULL racks as you showed on your SN layout ... knowing that might become important if you need to add some more hardware in the future ...



the next item on your agenda should be how to condition the Block Transfer rungs ... the examples that I gave are “just getting started” setups ... the key issue is that the BTWs to configure the NI8 modules don’t need to be executed over-and-over like my example does it ... look up the rung examples in the SLC Instruction Set Manual ... it shows some step-by-step procedures ... I’ll try to post more along those lines when I have time ...



Quote:
My BTW to my output module seems to work no matter what I put in for a buffer file address. Why is that?


that is only a BUFFER ... think of it as an “IN” or an “OUT” basket for your module ... this is how the processor “gets in touch” with the module - by using Block Transfers (of data) through that “buffer” ... your system has 32 of them ... you seem to have figured out the “by-the-hundreds” number scheme so I won’t go into that now ... it really doesn’t make any difference which one you use - just make SURE that you don’t use the same buffer for more than one Block Transfer ... that would be “bad” ...



Quote:
I guess I'm not understanding how to count up to the module location and how the buffer file is utilized by the ASB. I know I'm asking a lot but I am going cross eyed trying to get a grasp of the details from the manual.


hopefully what I’ve posted above is adequate ... if not, ask again and I’ll try again ... right now I’m just very short on time ...

Quote:
Reminds me of trying to explain how to locate an i/o point on a PLC5 with half slot addressing to someone who had never heard of octal numbering.


funny that you should mention the PLC-5 ... this whole system of numbering/addressing the Remote I/O for the SLC platform is taken DIRECTLY from the older PLC addressing ... take a look at the numbers under the modules in the sketch above ... OCTAL! ... look at it that way and maybe the “aha!” light will come on for you ...
__________________

2-B ?
Best regards, ----+----] [----+------------( )----
Ron | |
PLC Training Boot Camp | 2-B |
+----]/[----+

I once was lost, but now am found, was blind, but now I see.


Last edited by Ron Beaufort; January 18th, 2007 at 03:31 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2007, 06:30 AM   #8
Marc
Member
United States

Marc is offline
 
Marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 430
I see said the blind man!

Now a simple diagram like the one you posted would be a great addition to the AB manual.

So if I have this straight, I should configure my BSN modules to reflect this configuration



and reconfigure my dip switches to 12 logical groups (SW-2) 5-8 ON-OFF-ON-OFF.

Or does it make more sense to limit the discreet transfer to only the discreet modules (6 logical groups) and use block transfer for the rest of the data?

You have been a big help Ron, I can't thank you enough.

Marc
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Economical Remote I/O zmanvortex LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 19 February 17th, 2006 04:01 PM
Example for Panelview550 Remote I/O link with SLC5/05 use Remote Scanner huynt LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 February 12th, 2006 10:00 PM
Block Transfer Sequencing Andrew Evenson LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 April 16th, 2003 02:27 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 PM.


.