You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 20th, 2017, 09:44 AM   #1
sjohnson
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

sjohnson is offline
 
sjohnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: MI
Posts: 200
GE FANUC VersaMax IC200UEM001

Good Day and Merry Christmas.. I have a IC200UDR140 Fitted with a IC200UEM001 Ethernet Module. I am looking at setting up Modbus/TCP communications. I have set up the Ethernet Module with the Modbus Driver with PumpKIN not sure if it is correct but can post a screenshot. But first question I have is
1.) There is different instruction in the GFK-1645L section 14.6. not the same COMM_REQ I am accustomed to in the 9030 and RX3i Modbus /TCP it has the MODBUS TCP RW instruction. Not familiar with this and is the only manual that explains this just in the few short sections of the 1645L manual. Is there a separate communications manual or Modbus /TCP or Ethernet manual like the rx3i or 9030.
2.) Reading the Excerpt From :HERE
and what I read in the GFK-2436H that the Ethernet module is a passthrough or bridge. Because on the Hardware Settings and the Port 2 Ethernet Tab it is setup as RTU. I am going from a 9030 with a Snyder TSXETG100 RTU to TCP Bridge. The document talks about the RTU Serial settings and Station address which is all being setup in the TSXETG100. is this Ethernet module being the bridge from serial to TCP not quite grasping the function here.. thanks.. Regards Shawn
  Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2017, 12:58 PM   #2
Sapper307
Member
United States

Sapper307 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Maryland
Posts: 92
GFK-1503 is the old VersaMax Users Manual (now replaced by GFK-1645L), you might find something useful there. I'm not sure if there is a specific manual for VersaMax series comms like there is for the 90 series and RX3i.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2017, 01:09 PM   #3
Sapper307
Member
United States

Sapper307 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Maryland
Posts: 92
Looking at GFK-1645L pages 294 onward, Modbus TCP RW block kind of reminds me of how a Horner RTM705 would be configured in a 90/30 except the slave control blocks, message control blocks, comm reqs, etc are all contained in the Modbus TCP RW block. The examples starting on page 300 look pretty straight forward, just make sure all of your parameters are correct.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2017, 08:27 AM   #4
sjohnson
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

sjohnson is offline
 
sjohnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: MI
Posts: 200
Thanks for the Replys, I have been looking at those pages of the GFK-1645 pretty vague but was hoping for an different manual like there was for coms for the 9030 ect. there was a couple extra manuals for Modbus commands also. I guess It will be trial and error.. Heavy on the trial and error.
I doo see now in
14.6.7.5 Examples for MODBUS_TCP_RW that the IP is stored in 4 words so that's a start.. and it doesn't say but I am guessing that the T bits are still a one shot.. I'm sure ill be back after I get some instructions down might be easier to get a test setup with one instruction first. doesn't look like I need to open channel or Comm_Req so that is a bonus.. Regards.. Thanks a bunch and Have a Merry Christmas.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2017, 08:37 AM   #5
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is offline
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 6,567
Quote:
I am guessing that the T bits are still a one shot
Regardless of the discrete memory area you use, the bits that trigger COMREQ instructions should always be one shots. COMREQs executing in No Wait mode may take more than a single scan to complete. If you trigger the same COMREQ in subsequent logic scans, you run the risk of overflowing a buffer and discarding pending COMREQs.
Although the example you cited was for a COMREQ that's new to you, as far as I know, those you are familiar with are still available.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2017, 12:46 PM   #6
sjohnson
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

sjohnson is offline
 
sjohnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: MI
Posts: 200
Steve thanks for the reply, The biggest question I had was it looks like the MODBUS TCP RW instruction that is used now for the Versamax UDR140 with the UEM001 that you no longer use the open channel command nor com requests and on page 300 of GFK-1645L it shows the T bit on the EX so I assume that this would also be a one shot to trigger the Modbus_TCP_RW or execute the instruction in place of the comm_REQ...
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automation Direct & GE Fanuc VersaMax Micro: 24VAC On 24VDC Inputs? kittydog42 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 May 1st, 2009 05:31 PM
Profibus for Ge Fanuc Versamax MrQ LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 September 14th, 2007 01:38 PM
Need Acad Layout for GE Fanuc IC200UAR028 VersaMax PLC ste1171 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 5th, 2006 04:09 PM
GE Fanuc VersaMax Easy Program Store Device CaseyK LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 September 13th, 2004 06:38 PM
GE Fanuc VersaMax PID control problem Shawn Cassidy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 May 16th, 2004 08:10 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 PM.


.