You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 18th, 2018, 01:11 PM   #1
alive15
Member
United States

alive15 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: al
Posts: 238
Question AB 440R-H23176m MSR210P Safety Relay - Reset Issues

Good afternoon,

I'm having issues resetting my safety relay. Sometimes it resets, other times it does not. We end up cycling power and hoping it resets on start-up; again, sometimes it does, and sometimes it does not. After replacing the relay, we still have the same issue. We have a wire coming out of terminal S34 that goes into an e-stop reset PB, then goes into Y1 on the relay. From Y1, it goes through two NC contacts on two separate relays in series, then back into Y2.

The manual says I need to hold down the reset PB, then fix my E-stop issue, then let go of the reset PB. Is this the correct method? I've been able to fix my e-stop, then press my reset PB to clear out the e-stop error.

Here's a link to my manual: http://literature.rockwellautomation...n072_-mu-p.pdf

Thanks,
  Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2018, 01:12 PM   #2
alive15
Member
United States

alive15 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: al
Posts: 238
The wiring for the reset is exactly shown in Example 2, page 1 in the manual.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2018, 01:33 PM   #3
roxusa
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

roxusa is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 663
I believe the OP is using example -1 the wire from Y1 that goes through the N.C.contacts in series and back to Y2 is to insure the relays have opened up before reset is possible. I have found this a problem on some equipment that have the AB red safety AUX on them as they dont get a good contact sometimes (dust) and the 24 vdc doesn't complete the circuit and let Safety relay reset. (You can test in the field with a jumper when Relays are open and Safety relay wont reset. I put jumpers on the red caps so the circuit uses all the sets of N.C. contacts on the block
__________________
B.Pedersen
if you are going to assume, assume your wrong.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2018, 03:03 PM   #4
alive15
Member
United States

alive15 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: al
Posts: 238
Question

Yes, example 1, not 2, sorry.

Right, I've tested the contacts and made sure the connection over the reset circuit (S34 to y1 and y2) was good. But the relay still does not reset after pressing in my PB b/w S34 and Y1.

Are you saying to override my PB, and place a jumper from S34 to Y1 and Y2?
  Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2018, 03:07 PM   #5
roxusa
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

roxusa is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 663
No, I was just saying sometimes the connection between Y1-Y2 is not good and relay wont reset.
__________________
B.Pedersen
if you are going to assume, assume your wrong.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2018, 03:16 PM   #6
roxusa
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

roxusa is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 663
You should only have to press the reset after Estop conditions are cleared and it will reset.
Dont have to hold it. Are you just using the E-stop dual loop circuit like example -2
(reset like example -1)
__________________
B.Pedersen
if you are going to assume, assume your wrong.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2018, 03:24 PM   #7
roxusa
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

roxusa is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 663
I have not used this particular Safety Relay but have used a lot of them, Actually example 3 looks wrong for auto reset, I think you would need a jumper between Y1-S34 otherwise it is the same as example 1
__________________
B.Pedersen
if you are going to assume, assume your wrong.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2018, 04:47 PM   #8
alive15
Member
United States

alive15 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: al
Posts: 238
I have 24 Volts coming into A1 to power it, but coming out of my channel 1 (S11), I have 14V and coming out of channel 2 (S21), I have only 18 V ? This should be 24V on both channels, correct? Where is the issue here? This is a brand new safety relay.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2018, 06:57 AM   #9
roxusa
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

roxusa is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 663
Can you test the one you took out on the bench to be sure there is not a problem with the safety circuit itself. What do the indicator lights do.
Also I was wrong on the reset for example 3, the jumpers on Y40-41-42 determine the reset configuration.
__________________
B.Pedersen
if you are going to assume, assume your wrong.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2018, 04:49 PM   #10
alive15
Member
United States

alive15 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: al
Posts: 238
I figured out the issue, thanks. I actually do need 18 V and 14 V on either channel. I missed a few jumper wires and got it resolved.

Thanks,
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Manual Reset of E-stops dowthebow LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 25 October 20th, 2017 10:45 AM
Allen Bradley Minotaur Safety Relay jeb72 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 March 11th, 2015 08:09 PM
Wiring A 3 Phase Fail Relay To An Ab Input Card TURG LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 November 13th, 2008 08:46 PM
OT - Safety Relay - Relay Logic Question corkers LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 November 2nd, 2007 01:04 AM
E-Stop Circuit Wiring jshiepe LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 35 July 26th, 2004 10:46 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 AM.


.