first time with a PLC

snaggletto

Hello,
Totally PLC novice here. I picked up a DL205 6 slot PLC with a DL250 CPU and a few misc IO modules. I'm using the new Direct Soft 5.

I'm simply trying to flip a switch that turns on an output, as simple as it gets.

I quite embarassed to admit I'm lost on how to relate the element (IE. C0, X0, Y0)in the programming software to the specific physical input or output on the actual module.

For example, for my contact, DS5 states that my valid ranges are X0 - 777, C0 - 1777 etc... I chose X0 as my standard contact. I chose Y0 for my standard output. I've got a physical switch wired up to the 1st input terminal (actually labelled 0 or zero) on my input module. The input LED light comes on when the switch is thrown as it should.

In my program, how do I know which element address (C0, X0 etc.) is mapped to this specific input. And then, how do I know which output element is mapped to say my relay output module/discrete output module, 3rd terminal?

Thanks for any help, I hope my question makes sense.

Unless you've specifically changed it X0 will be the first input point in the first input card to the right of the CPU and Y0 will be the first output point in the first output card right of the CPU. Let us know which IO modules you are using and where in the rack they are and we can probably help more.

When online with the CPU go up to the top menu. Choose 'PLC' then come down to 'Configure I/O'. Choose the PLC symbol with an arrow pointing away. This reads the configuration of the I/O which is connected. Along with the module types is the start of any inputs or outputs associated with that module. This may be a step you need to understand.