You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 12th, 2018, 07:50 PM   #1
QasimFSH
Member
Australia

QasimFSH is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 113
Modbus TCP with M221 and SoMachine Basic

Hi All,

I am a newbie to Modbus tcp communication, and need some directions in this regard. I have TMCE221CE16R with SoMachine Basic as my programming software (v1.6sp2). I am totally confused about how to set it up.

I have data coming from a server, and it can communicate via Modbus, as I have tested it with a Modbus tcp software, and I was able to pull that data via that software. When it comes to SoMachine basic, it really confuses me. I am attaching the pics below if anyone can help me configure it please.
In the fig1 (tcp1), I have put my computer`s local IP. After that, should I chose Modbus Mapping or Client mode? If client mode, then I need to put my server`s ip there? where would the device id go, as that column in uneditable.

If anyone has got some examples with explanation, that will be really helpful.

Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: png tcp1.PNG (80.2 KB, 41 views)
File Type: png tcp2.PNG (96.2 KB, 37 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2018, 09:11 PM   #2
QasimFSH
Member
Australia

QasimFSH is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 113
If I use Modbus IO mapping which is probably to get inputs from other devices/servers, where can I actually put in the device ID? I have found my through to input the desired registers..
  Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2018, 02:46 AM   #3
tragically1969
Member
United Kingdom

tragically1969 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: uk
Posts: 1,438
Quote:
Originally Posted by QasimFSH View Post
Hi All,

I am a newbie to Modbus tcp communication, and need some directions in this regard. I have TMCE221CE16R with SoMachine Basic as my programming software (v1.6sp2). I am totally confused about how to set it up.

I have data coming from a server, and it can communicate via Modbus, as I have tested it with a Modbus tcp software, and I was able to pull that data via that software. When it comes to SoMachine basic, it really confuses me. I am attaching the pics below if anyone can help me configure it please.
In the fig1 (tcp1), I have put my computer`s local IP. After that, should I chose Modbus Mapping or Client mode? If client mode, then I need to put my server`s ip there? where would the device id go, as that column in uneditable.

If anyone has got some examples with explanation, that will be really helpful.

Thanks
It totally depends what you want the Modbus in the PLC to do ? What exactly are you planning on using Modbus for ?

The IP address should be the IP address that you want the PLC to be on, not your PC' IP.

The top part of your image is allowing you to give Modbus access to Input/Output registers

The bottom part is the IO scanner which lets you read remote Modbus devices into the PLC
  Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2018, 06:43 PM   #4
QasimFSH
Member
Australia

QasimFSH is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by tragically1969 View Post
It totally depends what you want the Modbus in the PLC to do ? What exactly are you planning on using Modbus for ?

The IP address should be the IP address that you want the PLC to be on, not your PC' IP.

The top part of your image is allowing you to give Modbus access to Input/Output registers

The bottom part is the IO scanner which lets you read remote Modbus devices into the PLC
I am trying to pull data from a server (its my pv and power consumption monitoring server). The reasn fro putting my pc`s ip is that I am using a simulator atm (soMachine Basic), without actually connecting my PLC physically.

I am actually unable to find where to input the device id of the device of interest, as the server has got a few devices connected to it..
  Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2018, 08:06 PM   #5
QasimFSH
Member
Australia

QasimFSH is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 113
HI All,

I have been able to sort this out now. "Channel ID" is where the Unit ID goes, and the PLC needs to be physically connected to get results.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2018, 08:14 PM   #6
QasimFSH
Member
Australia

QasimFSH is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 113
Hope this helps
Attached Images
File Type: png TCP Help.PNG (116.4 KB, 87 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2018, 01:54 AM   #7
QasimFSH
Member
Australia

QasimFSH is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 113
No I am stuck in another issue.. cant find a way to store these values :/
  Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2018, 07:27 AM   #8
chud
Member
South Africa

chud is offline
 
chud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: KALAHARI
Posts: 950
On the far right if you have setup the channels...Either reading and writing or single read or write.....etc. Go to programming and then tools. Look under Network objects and then input or output registers(io scanning) depending on what you setup. The configure register will appear there
  Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2018, 06:51 PM   #9
QasimFSH
Member
Australia

QasimFSH is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 113
Hi,

I have done it now. MW were used actually, just had to keep running the controller.. sorry for this inconvenience :/
  Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2020, 02:45 PM   #10
MuhammadZeshan
Member
Pakistan

MuhammadZeshan is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Lahore
Posts: 2
HI All,
Plz help me with an issue as i am so much confused about modbus tcp.Actually I have 10 Tm221c16r controllers whose data(inputs %I or %IW,Outputs %Q or %QW) have to show on Scada.I have 2 Tm221CE40R controllers as well.Tm221c16R only has serial port that I think will communicate with Serial or ethernet port of Tm221CE40R but i dont know how.Kindly help me what should i do,i am not able to differentiate between I/O scanning,MOdbus Tcp,Client Mode,modbus serial IO scanning. I dont know what should i use to get I/O data on Scada.
PLZ help me with this issue.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Somachine basic modbus TCP help bob.southall LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 February 14th, 2020 02:58 PM
SoMachine Basic Modbus IO Scanner Beau79AU LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 August 14th, 2018 12:54 AM
M221 and SoMachine Basic Blevine LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 March 19th, 2018 12:10 PM
M221 and SoMachine Basic - Indirect Addressing? Saffa LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 August 28th, 2016 02:58 AM
M221 processor SoMachine basic canít figure out serial Dorrance LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 November 1st, 2015 12:30 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.


.