RS Flip Flop

suranjan

Hello,
I am a student.I have PLC progrmming this semester.Would anybody pls make me understand how RS Flip Flop functions?

Last edited:
To adjust the clocked RS latch for edge triggering, we must actually combine two identical clocked latch circuits, but have them operate on opposite halves of the clock signal. The resulting circuit is commonly called a flip-flop, because its output can first flip one way and then flop back the other way. The clocked RS latch is also sometimes called a flip-flop, although it is more properly referred to as a latch circuit.

The two-section flip-flop is also known as a master-slave flip-flop, because the input latch operates as the master section, while the output section is slaved to the master during half of each clock cycle.

The edge-triggered RS flip-flop actually consists of two identical RS latch circuits, as shown above. However, the inverter connected between the two CLK inputs ensures that the two sections will be enabled during opposite half-cycles of the clock signal. This is the key to the operation of this circuit.

If we start with the CLK input at logic 0 as initially depicted above, the S and R inputs are disconnected from the input (master) latch. Therefore, any changes in the input signals cannot affect the state of the final outputs.

When the CLK signal goes to logic 1, the S and R inputs are able to control the state of the input latch, just as with the single RS latch circuit you already examined. However, at the same time the inverted CLK signal applied to the output (slave) latch prevents the state of the input latch from having any effect here. Therefore, any changes in the R and S input signals are tracked by the input latch while CLK is at logic 1, but are not reflected at the Q and Q' outputs.