You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 16th, 2019, 04:28 AM   #1
jonney
Member
Malaysia

jonney is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 25
TouchPanel MT8102iE failed to connect AB PLC5 over EtherNET/IP

Recently we had a "Made in China"portable line installed Weiview TouchPanel MT8102iE, it has capability to connect CompactLogix and ControlLogix over EtherNET/IP, but it doesn't support PLC5 over EtherNET/IP. For PLC5, it only provide RS232 via CH0 of PLC5. Are there any workarounds to connect/communicate our PLC5 over EtherNET/IP Network?
Attached Images
File Type: png AB connections.PNG (57.9 KB, 8 views)
File Type: png CND.PNG (34.5 KB, 6 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2019, 05:46 AM   #2
Ken Moore
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Ken Moore is offline
 
Ken Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North, West, South Carolina
Posts: 2,650
If I remember correctly, PLC-5's communicate using EtherNet/IP-PCCC, and newer devices use EtherNet/IP-CIP. So, you may need some type of protocol converter, don't know if one exist or not. Later firmware PLC-5's may support CIP, someone more knowledgeable may know..
  Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2019, 11:08 PM   #3
jonney
Member
Malaysia

jonney is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Moore View Post
If I remember correctly, PLC-5's communicate using EtherNet/IP-PCCC, and newer devices use EtherNet/IP-CIP. So, you may need some type of protocol converter, don't know if one exist or not. Later firmware PLC-5's may support CIP, someone more knowledgeable may know..
I used TCPing.exe to ping PLC5 processor, 2222 got response, 44818 failed. Does the ping result mean this 1785-ENET A or PLC-5/L80C15 processor is EtherNET/IP-PCCC only?
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AB PLC5 to panleview plus 1500 using 2711P-RN6 ahmsgrz LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 April 9th, 2019 08:01 AM
how to connect to a plc using ethernet/ip connection? vlad.rja LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 November 3rd, 2017 02:20 AM
Connect Vacon 100 VSD to ControlLogix through Ethernet/IP jokerb LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 January 25th, 2013 12:00 AM
AB PLC5 PID help bobbuilder LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 July 26th, 2010 11:06 AM
DF1 full duplex protocol - AB PLC5 to Proface 2400 darren_m_green LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 January 10th, 2003 04:23 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 PM.


.