TIA PORTAL - PROFIBUS device

Ingis

Hi,

I'm rather new to siemens. I have a project were the plc needs to be upgraded, new code, ... The existing hardware needs to be reused.

There are some profibus components and one is giving me a bit of a headache.
I can only find some basic information in an german manual (not my mother language)

- profibusadresse : 26
- all parameters 16 bit words
- data protocol DIN 3946R
- parity even
- baurate 9600

is it possible to add a generic component were you can configure some parameters that will allow me to talk to that component?

best regards,
Wesley

Are the components in the existing system a secret ?

I think that possibly the 3964R protocol is via a serial interface, not Profibus. Maybe there is a serial CP in a rack connected via Profibus.
Maybe ... not easy to know by guessing.

Please state all the components of the old PLC.
And a link to the magpuls of magplus device ?
Google shows no hits for neither "magpuls 1000/10/100 UP" nor "magplus 1000/10/100 UP"

its a pretty obscure device. I made some progress.

I was able to get a GSD

pb.png

I added the component to my network. I get the addresses of the 12 words that are used to steer the component.

And now I'm stuck again. How do I send or read my 'telegrams' to the device? I need to compose a word and send it to the address? How do I do that?

Do I need to make a variable linked with that adres and copy/move the word to it?

best regards,
Wesley

I cant help you when you don't answer my questions.

Its a magpuls 1000/10/100 UP current pulse generator made by the company magpuls . its a german small brand of generators.

The only thing change on the plc rack is the CPU. It was a S7-300 CPU315-2 DP. This was replaces with a CPU 1513-1 PN and a CP 1542-5.

The old program was in step7 and now we are switching to TIA portal 16.