You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 14th, 2021, 08:28 PM   #1
RHEX-Jeff
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

RHEX-Jeff is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Vernal, Utah
Posts: 5
Studio 5000

need a little help.
Just Purchased "Studio 5000 Full" version 33.00.02 I'm re-purposing a Compactlogix L30ER it was password protected, finally did a factory reset to default and tried to setup a new project in Studio 5k. the dropdown list starts at 5370ER goes up from there, the processor has a lower number that's not in dropdown list: "1769-L30ER/A Logix5330ER" revision 21.011
will the software even program this compactlogix ?
  Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2021, 11:11 PM   #2
dmroeder
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmroeder is offline
 
dmroeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 2,946
What you need to understand about Studio5000 is that there is no such thing as backwards compatibility. You must install every major revision of software for every major revision of firmware which you wish to support. you can install all* major revs on the same machine along side each other. (we won't worry about the asterisk for this conversation).

If you wanted to keep the firmware revision at v21, you would need to install Studio5000 v21.

Good news is, that controller supports up to v33 (and newer when they come out). So I would flash that controller up to v33.

Now, if you ever want to support older versions, you might want to bite the bullet right now and uninstall v33. See, you will have the most success installing the oldest version first. More good news, last I heard, your serial number will allow you to download all previous versions of Studio5000. Guess you just have to decide what is best for you.

Clear as mud?

Last edited by dmroeder; September 14th, 2021 at 11:13 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2021, 11:12 PM   #3
pturmel
Member
United States

pturmel is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 102
Your license should include support for downloading earlier versions if you need to.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2021, 11:23 PM   #4
dmroeder
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmroeder is offline
 
dmroeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 2,946
Quote:
Originally Posted by pturmel View Post
Your license should include support for downloading earlier versions if you need to.
Haha, I took the long way around
  Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2021, 06:54 AM   #5
forqnc
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

forqnc is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Elizabeth City
Posts: 120
Also to stir the mud up more........
I have Studio 5000 ver 32, I had a customer with a problem on ver 17 (RSLogix 5000) Long story short I was unable to install ver 17 until my distributor informed me I needed to install Studio 5000 ver 26 which is forwards and backwards compatible. Did this and was able to install RSLogix 5000 ver 17 OK

Good Luck
  Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2021, 12:11 PM   #6
RHEX-Jeff
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

RHEX-Jeff is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Vernal, Utah
Posts: 5
dmroeder, your explanation was crystal clear thanks the controller is now updated & all is good.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Studio 5000 View Designer with 5000 Studio Logix Emulate hbenkaab.takeda LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 July 22nd, 2020 09:30 AM
Communication btw Studio 5000 View Designer with 5000 Studio Logix Emulate hbenkaab.takeda LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 April 12th, 2020 11:18 AM
Studio 5000 download question RBergmann LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 October 9th, 2017 11:59 AM
Studio 5000 Logix Emulate - Is this a free software with RS Logix 5000 or support ? Baker in Virginia LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 33 June 8th, 2017 02:58 PM
RSLogix 5000 V15 Features Samneggs LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 April 20th, 2006 06:45 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:53 PM.


.