You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread October 5th, 2019, 05:21 AM   #1
Holly
Member
United States

Holly is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: kentucky
Posts: 14
Micrologix question

Going from a 1000 to a 1400. This plc connects to a DNI. Iíve managed to load program but Iím getting a device net communication http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/attachm...1&d=1570267190
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 86CC88D1-947C-483C-B197-54FE5C60D39E.jpg (157 Bytes, 30 views)
File Type: jpg 0C7E5EAF-B947-437C-9BF3-92CF35109E82.jpg (157 Bytes, 11 views)
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 5th, 2019, 05:34 AM   #2
Holly
Member
United States

Holly is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: kentucky
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holly View Post
Going from a 1000 to a 1400. This plc connects to a DNI. Iíve managed to load program but Iím getting a device net communication http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/attachm...1&d=1570267190
the attachments were supposed to be pictures of name plates with part numbers. i'm going from 1761-L20BWA-5A series A FRN 1.0 to a 1766-L32BWAA series C FW 21.
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 5th, 2019, 07:40 AM   #3
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 6,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holly View Post
the attachments were supposed to be pictures of name plates with part numbers.
Make your pictures smaller

Can you give more details on
Quote:
"but I’m getting a device net communication"
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 5th, 2019, 08:39 AM   #4
Holly
Member
United States

Holly is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: kentucky
Posts: 14
We have a process line that is divided into sections(operations). Each of the sections has a micrologix 1000 that communicates to a slc 5/04 through a DNI. I’m getting a device net communication fault on the one I just replaced. Someone has done this very thing on one of the other sections that has been working without issue. But that was before my time. And they left no documentation on how they did it.
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 6th, 2019, 07:59 AM   #5
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 6,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holly View Post
And they left no documentation on how they did it.
Welcome to the club...

Sorry I have never used a DNI so I am not going to be much help, guessing you need to make sure your COM's are the same and however the 1000 was set you are going to need to make sure that the 1400 is the same
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 6th, 2019, 09:36 AM   #6
BachPhi
Member
United States

BachPhi is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Alamos
Posts: 336
There is no need to touch the DNI, just open the old program setting from 1000 and compare with the new settings from 1400
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 6th, 2019, 09:55 AM   #7
Geospark
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Geospark is offline
 
Geospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kildare
Posts: 2,790
Just to add a few more brushstrokes to the picture you're painting us...

Can you please confirm if there is a 1747-SDN DeviceNet Scanner module in the SLC 5/04 chassis acting as the DeviceNet Master polling all these remote MicroLogix controllers via their local 1761-NET-DNI DeviceNet Interface?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Holly
...Iím getting a device net communication fault on the one I just replaced...
And if so, what error codes are showing on the 1747-SDN display?

What Series (A or B) is the DNI Interface that is connected to the new MicroLogix 1400 controller?

Do you have the DNI Configuration Utility installed?

Do you have software access to view and configure the DeviceNet network, such as RSNetWorx for DeviceNet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Holly
...Iíve managed to load program...
You appear to have RSLogix software to view/configure the MicroLogix 1400 controller project, both offline and online, yes?

Is the program loaded and running in the MicroLogix 1400 a conversion of the original MicroLogix 1000 program, or is it a new program with the original logic copied over?

Which communications port and which cable is connected between the MicroLogix 1400 and the DNI?

Is the MicroLogix 1400 communications port configured correctly for DF1 to match the DF1 configuration in the DNI (DF1 Baud Rate), similar to the original MicroLogix 1000 port?

If the 1761-NET-DNI is a Series B -

In the configuration for the DNI there is a specific parameter 0011 "DF1 Device". For a MicroLogix 1000, this parameter should have been set to "3" - "MicroLogix 1000".

For an SLC 500, or "other" models of MicroLogix controllers, this parameter "should" be set to "2" - "SLC/other MicroLogix". I've a conditional "should" there as I believe this parameter configures the DNI to expect the default N7 Data File for the MicroLogix 1000 to be assigned for the Input and Output Data File. The MicroLogix 1400 also uses the N7 Data File by default. So it is "possible" that this parameter setting should remain set for "MicroLogix 1000"? The SLC 500 controllers, and the MicroLogix 1500, for instance, use the N9 Data File as their default integer data file.

But there may also be other reasons, that I'm not aware of, why you must change it to "SLC/other MicroLogix" when using a MicroLogix 1400, regardless of the fact that it uses the same default N7 Data File.

So it is possible that the DNI "might" need to be "touched"?

As I've mentioned, there are also parameters in the DNI to configure the default integer Data Files for the DF1 controller I/O data mapping. These parameters should have been set to "7" for the default N7 Data File in the MicroLogix 1000 and should be left at "7" for the MicroLogix 1400, as its default is also the N7 Data File. However, if for instance you are now using say an N10 Data File in the MicroLogix 1400, then you would have to change these parameters from "7" to "10".

Note: If you do find you need or would like to change any parameter settings in a Series B DNI, then you must first set it into idle mode. You do this by first setting parameter 0012 "I/O Scan Enable" to "0" - "Disabled" and then, after you've changed any parameters, set it back to "1" - "Enabled".

Quote:
Originally Posted by Holly
...they left no documentation on how they did it...
Apart from us trying to piece together what the status quo is, and if you can answer "yes" to having the wherewithal to view/modify the DNI configuration; I too would advise you to examine the existing, working MicroLogix 1400/DNI setup. It would be the best way to remove all this guesswork on our part and question answering on your part.

Regards,
George
__________________
"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men".
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 6th, 2019, 10:13 AM   #8
BachPhi
Member
United States

BachPhi is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Alamos
Posts: 336
I see , there might be a need to change param 11 for series B to 2 and if it's series A then param14 to 2
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 6th, 2019, 01:59 PM   #9
Holly
Member
United States

Holly is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: kentucky
Posts: 14
[quote=Geospark;828437]Just to add a few more brushstrokes to the picture you're painting us...

Can you please confirm if there is a 1747-SDN DeviceNet Scanner module in the SLC 5/04 chassis acting as the DeviceNet Master polling all these remote MicroLogix controllers via their local 1761-NET-DNI DeviceNet Interface?



And if so, what error codes are showing on the 1747-SDN display?

What Series (A or B) is the DNI Interface that is connected to the new MicroLogix 1400 controller?

Do you have the DNI Configuration Utility installed?

Do you have software access to view and configure the DeviceNet network, such as RSNetWorx for DeviceNet?



You appear to have RSLogix software to view/configure the MicroLogix 1400 controller project, both offline and online, yes?

Is the program loaded and running in the MicroLogix 1400 a conversion of the original MicroLogix 1000 program, or is it a new program with the original logic copied over?

Which communications port and which cable is connected between the MicroLogix 1400 and the DNI?

Is the MicroLogix 1400 communications port configured correctly for DF1 to match the DF1 configuration in the DNI (DF1 Baud Rate), similar to the original MicroLogix 1000 port?

If the 1761-NET-DNI is a Series B -

In the configuration for the DNI there is a specific parameter 0011 "DF1 Device". For a MicroLogix 1000, this parameter should have been set to "3" - "MicroLogix 1000".

For an SLC 500, or "other" models of MicroLogix controllers, this parameter "should" be set to "2" - "SLC/other MicroLogix". I've a conditional "should" there as I believe this parameter configures the DNI to expect the default N7 Data File for the MicroLogix 1000 to be assigned for the Input and Output Data File. The MicroLogix 1400 also uses the N7 Data File by default. So it is "possible" that this parameter setting should remain set for "MicroLogix 1000"? The SLC 500 controllers, and the MicroLogix 1500, for instance, use the N9 Data File as their default integer data file.

But there may also be other reasons, that I'm not aware of, why you must change it to "SLC/other MicroLogix" when using a MicroLogix 1400, regardless of the fact that it uses the same default N7 Data File.

So it is possible that the DNI "might" need to be "touched"?

As I've mentioned, there are also parameters in the DNI to configure the default integer Data Files for the DF1 controller I/O data mapping. These parameters should have been set to "7" for the default N7 Data File in the MicroLogix 1000 and should be left at "7" for the MicroLogix 1400, as its default is also the N7 Data File. However, if for instance you are now using say an N10 Data File in the MicroLogix 1400, then you would have to change these parameters from "7" to "10".

Note: If you do find you need or would like to change any parameter settings in a Series B DNI, then you must first set it into idle mode. You do this by first setting parameter 0012 "I/O Scan Enable" to "0" - "Disabled" and then, after you've changed any parameters, set it back to "1" - "Enabled".



Apart from us trying to piece together what the status quo is, and if you can answer "yes" to having the wherewithal to view/modify the DNI configuration; I too would advise you to examine the existing, working MicroLogix 1400/DNI setup. It would be the best way to remove all this guesswork on our part and question answering on your part.

Thanks to all for taking the time to respond. Iíd like to ask a basic question for starters. If you were tasked with finding a replacement for the micrologix 1000 in this situation and you wanted the easiest and simplest solution taking into account the fact that we have no one on our staff with much Allen Bradley experience and certainly not on your level would you have chosen the 1400? I asked only because we have undergone tremendous turnover and anyone who may have been involved in the one successful change out is gone now. Based on your inquiries if you tell me this is the best solution without having to replace or upgrade other parts of the system then we will have to bring someone in.
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 6th, 2019, 03:55 PM   #10
Geospark
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Geospark is offline
 
Geospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kildare
Posts: 2,790
Hi Holly,

I'm not sure what you were trying do with the quotation of my last post, but one suggestion I might make is to quote it again but place your answers after each of the questions. That's if that is what you would like to do...

Example...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geospark
Can you please confirm if there is a 1747-SDN DeviceNet Scanner module in the SLC 5/04 chassis acting as the DeviceNet Master polling all these remote MicroLogix controllers via their local 1761-NET-DNI DeviceNet Interface?

Yes, there is a DeviceNet master 1747-SDN local to the SLC 5/04 chassis.
Using a different colour also helps to distinguish the answers from the questions.

Also, as you can see, the quotation did not display properly. This is because the closing "quote" code is missing...

(Note: I've intentionally replaced "E" with "x" to stop the bbcode from attempting to execute)

[QUOTx]
Quote:
I open a nameless quotation
[QUOTx=Holly]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holly
I open a named quotation

[QUOTx=Holly;123456]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holly View Post
I open a named & linked quotation
[/QUOTx]
Quote:
I close all quotations
My above example looks like this when I've typed it out...

[QUOTx=Geospark]Can you please confirm if there is a 1747-SDN DeviceNet Scanner module in the SLC 5/04 chassis acting as the DeviceNet Master polling all these remote MicroLogix controllers via their local 1761-NET-DNI DeviceNet Interface?

[COLOx="Red"]Yes, there is a DeviceNet master 1747-SDN local to the SLC 5/04 chassis.[/COLOx][/QUOTx]

...and again executes as follows...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geospark
Can you please confirm if there is a 1747-SDN DeviceNet Scanner module in the SLC 5/04 chassis acting as the DeviceNet Master polling all these remote MicroLogix controllers via their local 1761-NET-DNI DeviceNet Interface?

Yes, there is a DeviceNet master 1747-SDN local to the SLC 5/04 chassis.
EDIT: I see you've since added your comments at the end of your post so take the above for what it's worth at this stage. I'll start another post to reply your query...

Regards,
George
__________________
"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men".

Last edited by Geospark; October 6th, 2019 at 04:00 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 6th, 2019, 04:57 PM   #11
Firejo
Member
United States

Firejo is offline
 
Firejo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 1,293
I'd go look at the other 1400 that's already replaced a 1000 and see how it's configured with respect to communications.
__________________
Go Hawks!!!
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 6th, 2019, 04:59 PM   #12
Holly
Member
United States

Holly is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: kentucky
Posts: 14
Sorry, Iím new to forums and trying to navigate using my iPhone isnít helping. Iíll be able to answer some of those questions tomorrow when Iím back at work. I do know there is a DeviceNet master in SLC 5/04 rack but I didnít get the code.
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 6th, 2019, 05:25 PM   #13
Geospark
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Geospark is offline
 
Geospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kildare
Posts: 2,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holly
Thanks to all for taking the time to respond. Iíd like to ask a basic question for starters. If you were tasked with finding a replacement for the micrologix 1000 in this situation and you wanted the easiest and simplest solution taking into account the fact that we have no one on our staff with much Allen Bradley experience and certainly not on your level would you have chosen the 1400? I asked only because we have undergone tremendous turnover and anyone who may have been involved in the one successful change out is gone now. Based on your inquiries if you tell me this is the best solution without having to replace or upgrade other parts of the system then we will have to bring someone in.
No problem. I'm just on my android phone and it can be painful typing these posts. We can wait for some answers tommorow.

On your general advice query above...

If your staff's AB experience level is low to non-existent, then you are most likely going to have to bring someone in. Or else train your staff? Or do they have any experience with other control platforms which you could consider using? But that may also not be practical or an option if you are primarily an AB user.

Remember, you are asking us to consider suitable equipment for an application, or many applications, where currently all we know is...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Holly
...We have a process line that is divided into sections(operations). Each of the sections has a micrologix 1000 that communicates to a slc 5/04 through a DNI...
It would be a little bit difficult for me, or I'm sure others here, to advise which controller would suit best as a replacement without knowing the application and the reason for wanting to upgrade - like increased I/O, more program memory, embedded Ethernet, online editing, etc. If the MicroLogix 1000 was comfortably executing the application for some years then I would arguably say that the MicroLogix 1400 is a quite capable upgrade and should be more than able to execute any ex MicroLogix 1000 project. But, in my opinion, the MicroLogix 1400 would not be considered too advanced an upgrade for a MicroLogix 1000. It would be the best you can upgrade to within the same hardware and software platform, but no more. The MicroLogix 1100 being another slightly lesser option, but I would tend to steer directly towards the MicroLogix 1400, to be honest.

No matter what upgrade you could consider, be it on the same platform, or a higher/newer platform, it is inevitable that the use of programming software will be necessary. You will not, to my knowledge, be able to purchase an off-the-shelf plug-and-play solution where program modification or device configuration will not be necessary.

If you can, in your own time, perhaps outline the application(s) a little more and then we might be able to provide you more informed advice?

As you can see from Firejo's last suggestion, and our similar previous suggestions, we are all of the consensus so far that checking the existing setup for the other MicroLogix 1400 (& the DNI) would be the best and simplest advice we can give you here, if you have the means to do so. If you have the means (software) but not the knowhow then we can certainly guide you, if you wish.

Regards,
George
__________________
"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men".
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 6th, 2019, 06:08 PM   #14
Holly
Member
United States

Holly is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: kentucky
Posts: 14
Thank you again for taking the time to respond. I’ve been informed that our purchasing department has located a suitable 1000 and we should have it tomorrow afternoon. That will give us time to work through the 1400 upgrade.
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 8th, 2019, 06:59 AM   #15
Holly
Member
United States

Holly is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: kentucky
Posts: 14
[QUOTx=Geospark]Can you please confirm if there is a 1747-SDN DeviceNet Scanner module in the SLC 5/04 chassis acting as the DeviceNet Master polling all these remote MicroLogix controllers via their local 1761-NET-DNI DeviceNet Interface?


Yes, there is a 1747-SDN DeviceNet Scanner module in the SLC 5/04 chassis and the fault code was 86.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Micrologix 1500 communication question. Eric.Noe LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 16 May 17th, 2011 12:34 AM
MicroLogix 1000 question Cannery LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 September 2nd, 2008 02:19 PM
micrologix 1200, and 1000 question darrentpi LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 July 24th, 2008 05:42 AM
Micrologix 1500 comm question katratzi LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 November 23rd, 2005 06:23 PM
Question about using 2 Barcode Scanners with Micrologix vha23 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 August 25th, 2005 03:38 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.


.