You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 23rd, 2002, 12:41 AM   #1
Chandrashekhar_basap
Member
India

Chandrashekhar_basap is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: India
Posts: 0
Communication on ethernet between AB PLC and Siemens PLC

I would appreciate if any one could give me some suggestion on the below described topic:

Topic:
I have Allen Bradely Controllogix LM5555 CPU and S7 300 PLC. S7 300 PLC is meant for a specific job i.e for load shedding.AB PLC has got all the data required for load shedding program. I need to send these data from AB PLC to Siemens PLC and the data needs to sent at a very fast rate i.e every 100 millisecs.I would like communicate on ethernet and propose to use AB ethernet card 1756-ENBT and Siemens CP343-IT ethernet card on TCP-IP protocol. I understand that though both the cards adhere to TCP-IP protocols there is a change in the application layer.Is this true. If yes is there a solution for this communication with out compromising on speed. Eagerly waiting for your suggestions.Other solutions with out compromising on speed is also welcome.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2002, 12:40 AM   #2
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,293
East is East and West is West

About the only way you'll get A-B Ethernet to map to Siemens Ethernet extremely fast is to use a hardware protocol bridge. Unfortunately, Prosoft's popular ProLinx doesn't offer Siemens protocol, though it's entirely possible that other types do.

The best way I can think of to perform peer-to-peer interlocking between S7 and ControlLogix is to use SST's Profibus DP module for ControlLogix. That kind of a peer-to-peer interlock will far outrun your speed requirements.

An "OPC Mirror" might also fulfill your technical requirements, but I would not be confident enough in a PC software element to use it for a load shedding application.

Rockwell Automation in Germany has a module that will communicate using Siemens 3964R serial protocol... that might be an alternative to Profibus-DP.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2002, 07:42 PM   #3
RRobbins
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

RRobbins is offline
 
RRobbins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 405
The 343-1-IT is a OPEN TCP module that will accept ANY TCP ASCII packet. It can be configured for UDP,TCP,3964r, PC, H1 (old propriety) protocols. It also has a web page built in. If you use it and FC5 or 50 and FC6 or 60 you can send or receive 240 or 8196 packets of data into or from a DB.
The AB, I think uses a propriorty protocol (IP protocol) to communicate. It's like French and English. I can send you a configuration for the IT module that will accept any ASCII data, all you need is the PORT number from which to send or receive. It will be exstreamly fast (<10ms) at 100mb.
I am not that familiar with the LM5555 CPU. Is it open ASCII, MODBUS or AB's IP protocol and does it have ethernet builtin? As Ken said, we can use an SST 5136PFB profibus card and got to the profibus port.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2002, 10:45 PM   #4
Jiri Toman
Member
United States

Jiri Toman is offline
 
Jiri Toman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 498
yes you can do it

Seems like an interesting project, wouldn't mind do it myself.
I kind of disagree with what was said so far.

Quote:
About the only way you'll get A-B Ethernet to map to Siemens Ethernet extremely fast is to use a hardware protocol bridge. Unfortunately, Prosoft's popular ProLinx doesn't offer Siemens protocol, though it's entirely possible that other types do.
I am not sure what is meant by hardware protocol bridge?
Protocol translation requires fair amount of software no matter what you do.

Quote:
An "OPC Mirror" might also fulfill your technical requirements, but I would not be confident enough in a PC software element to use it for a load shedding application.
What is an OPC mirror?
Does that mean that you will have a PC loaded with an OPC server for both the 3964R and Ethernet/IP (RSLinx) and somehow you will port the
data from one server to the other?
I guess you could do that if you wanna spend lots of time learning the OPC. It's not easy trust me.
Not being confident enough to use PC software element?
Hell we use PC software element all the time in all kinds of apps.
SoftLogix, critical operator interfaces etc.

Here is what I would do:
Get yourself an industrially hardened PC, perhaps even one of those DIN rail mountable PC's.
Obtain third party Drivers for EtherNet/IP and for 3964R.
These drivers should provide you with an Active X (OCX, DLL) and
unlike OPC servers they will be CHEAP!

Write a small VB program to port data from one processor to the other.
This should not be a big deal, most Active X drivers I have seen are real easy to use. You could look at www.softwaretoolbox.com they
re-sell all kinds of drivers.
Actually the PC software element is a nice touch, it will allow you to write a nice diagnostic program i.e. you should be able to see
if the data is getting through.
Make sure that you use switches instead of hubs to isolate the
Ethernet traffic.

By the way is this a Co-gen application?

Good luck.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2006, 04:03 PM   #5
Fox
Member
Portugal

Fox is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Aveiro
Posts: 35
Hi,

Can you explain me why are you using two PLCs?

If you have a solution with just one you won't have this comunication problem.
__________________
Manuel Raposo
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Siemens PLC communication with PC TEOWK LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 May 28th, 2006 04:18 PM
siemens s5 + s7 on ethernet want acess each plc program via modem dbolton LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 October 8th, 2004 02:40 AM
Siemens S7-400 PLC communication Jing Zhi LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 September 1st, 2004 07:32 AM
ab mmi & siemens plc tbasf LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 August 20th, 2004 08:37 AM
Siemens S7-300 series PLC to PC communication Mahesh LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 December 7th, 2003 05:21 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 AM.


.