You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread August 13th, 2019, 02:35 PM   #1
RoTaTech
Member
Canada

RoTaTech is offline
 
RoTaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cobourg, ON, Canada
Posts: 389
RSLinx over Internet

If someone knows how to do this, he or she will be on this forum.

Scenario:

Machine programmer owns RS5000, Linx, etc. and is three plus hours from machine.

At the machine we have a PC available with Internet access and Ethernet cable to PLC. Optional - we can get RSLinx if needed. No desire to buy RS5000 to support a single machine.

Requirement:

To set up the local PC as a gateway / router / firewall / what-have-you so that the programmer can point his/her RSLinx at that PC and route through to the PLC for programming, support.

No, PCAnywhere, Teamviewer, VNC, et. al. remote control software will not work, as the local PC has no RS5000.

Most likely we will use a mobile phone in tethered or hot-spot mode to the local PC, to bypass the local network completely. Allowing a single IP ports, etc. through to the PC can be arranged if no alternative, but local network access is discouraged.

Has anyone here tried a similar set-up, or have any input?
__________________
"Nice mirror!" said Tom reflectively.

Last edited by RoTaTech; August 13th, 2019 at 02:54 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Unread August 13th, 2019, 02:38 PM   #2
scott.lawrence
Member
United States

scott.lawrence is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 173
you could just set up a vpn & have the programmer log onto the plc externally
  Reply With Quote
Unread August 13th, 2019, 02:44 PM   #3
sigmadelta
Member
Canada

sigmadelta is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: From Canada - Living in Bulgaria
Posts: 1,276
TeamViewer VPN would work. With this, the computer acts as a gateway between the Internet and the local network.
__________________
Automation Programmer
PLC / HMI / SCADA / SQL
New Systems, Modifications
System Upgrades & Conversions
------------------------
Visit: contrologica.com
Email: info@contrologica.com
  Reply With Quote
Unread August 13th, 2019, 03:02 PM   #4
RoTaTech
Member
Canada

RoTaTech is offline
 
RoTaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cobourg, ON, Canada
Posts: 389
Thank you SL and SD - I shall investigate TV's VPN feature.
__________________
"Nice mirror!" said Tom reflectively.
  Reply With Quote
Unread August 13th, 2019, 03:12 PM   #5
Firejo
Member
United States

Firejo is online now
 
Firejo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 1,307
https://www.spectrumcontrols.com/pro...cess-ethernet/
__________________
Go Hawks!!!
  Reply With Quote
Unread August 13th, 2019, 08:12 PM   #6
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 10,320
I like the simplicity of the VPN appliance made by Stridelinx. It takes less than 5 minutes to set up which for us makes the cost worthwhile. We deal mostly with Micrologix and SLCs so we will use the Ethernet Devices driver. Once the VPN is connected, RSLinx will see those remote PLCs through that type of driver and connect readily. No need for RSLinx or RSLogix or even a PC at the other end...

https://www.automationdirect.com/adc...ired/se-sl3011
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.
  Reply With Quote
Unread August 14th, 2019, 10:35 AM   #7
forqnc
Member
United States

forqnc is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Elizabeth City
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by OkiePC View Post
I like the simplicity of the VPN appliance made by Stridelinx. It takes less than 5 minutes to set up which for us makes the cost worthwhile. We deal mostly with Micrologix and SLCs so we will use the Ethernet Devices driver. Once the VPN is connected, RSLinx will see those remote PLCs through that type of driver and connect readily. No need for RSLinx or RSLogix or even a PC at the other end...

https://www.automationdirect.com/adc...ired/se-sl3011
+1
I just set up one of our machines with a Stridelink using teamviewer. Only drawback for me was only one client can log in at a time. But this shouldn't be a problem for you.
  Reply With Quote
Unread August 14th, 2019, 11:47 AM   #8
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,993
I use the VPN and Remote Desktop features of TeamViewer extensively, along with a USB-over-IP utility.

The VPN allows me to connect my local Studio 5000 session to a remote ControlLogix; the HMI acts as the VPN endpoint and the router. A guide from our colleague JesperMP is how I set it up.

I prefer to edit the HMI on the remote system itself because it's tightly integrated with the local SQL server and Windows domain. So I have Indusoft Web Studio installed on the PC (both runtime and development) and connect my local Development USB dongle via a Eltima Software's FlexiHub utility.

Both of these are pricey annual subscriptions, but they save us tens of thousands of dollars in travel and save our customers days of waiting or downtime on very expensive machine systems.

I'd like to have a simple way to set up a VPN endpoint so that a customer could occasionally connect their own mobile phone to an HMI and give me easy temporary access via VPN, but so far I haven't done enough research to find a reliable and inexpensive way.

I have learned from experience that VPN is the minimum reasonable layer of security to connect to a control system over the Internet; port forwarding to the PLC will buy you a few minutes of reliable connection before the bots get to it, while ten years ago you could run in obscurity for days or weeks.
  Reply With Quote
Unread August 14th, 2019, 01:20 PM   #9
Elcan
Member
United States

Elcan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 817
Quote:
Originally Posted by forqnc View Post
+1
I just set up one of our machines with a Stridelink using teamviewer. Only drawback for me was only one client can log in at a time. But this shouldn't be a problem for you.
Could you please explain why you use Stridelinx AND Teamviewer?
  Reply With Quote
Unread August 19th, 2019, 10:42 PM   #10
DwSoFt
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

DwSoFt is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 909
EW ON is another good von appliance for this purpose.
You can also use a shared license you check out for the day each time you needed from. Your server to the clients pc
__________________
Dan Wiebe
-----------------
Automation Manager
Phoenix Energy Services
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connect to RSEmulate from another PC running RSLinx ASF LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 March 5th, 2019 09:17 PM
RSlinx won't see a PLC on the network kirk LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 May 8th, 2016 04:19 PM
RSlinx 2.53 with Vista support available Contr_Conn LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 September 4th, 2008 08:56 AM
Help! SLC505-rslinx-ethernet problem hatchor LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 31 March 5th, 2008 07:58 PM
Start RSLinx Minimized/Verify RSLinx Running zmanvortex LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 May 3rd, 2002 11:43 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 AM.


.