RSLogix 500 PID

iMalinko

Hi, all.

I am new to AB PLCs, and I've been a shadow on these forums looking for information. I've been wanting to set up a PID loop, and I wanted a little help of help, or at least confirmation in terms of concept of what I'm doing.

I am attempting to control a power controller that utilizes a 0 - 5 VDC signal, so 0 - 16380.

I have a feed source of water, which varies but bounces around 1,800 to 2,400 uS. I want the desired product (from the component) to be 300 uS. The component will utilize the power controller signal to increase/decrease the power required to get the 300 uS output. Ideally, I'd want to have this 300 value be a number that I key in from my HMI (which I have already set up).

So, how would I set this up?

I know that I need 23 blocks to use a PID controller. I know the Process Variable needs to be the feed, and I know the control variable needs to be 300, or whatever I enter it on the HMI.

Would I use E = SP - PV?

Output min and max would be 0 - 100%
Setpoint min and max would be 0 - 16380

I guess I don't know what to make setpoint SP or process variable PV in the PID setup.

Any help, or guidance to articles would be appreciated. I've been looking at examples/other posts in terms of their application.

Hi, all.

I am new to AB PLCs, and I've been a shadow on these forums looking for information. I've been wanting to set up a PID loop, and I wanted a little help of help, or at least confirmation in terms of concept of what I'm doing.

I am attempting to control a power controller that utilizes a 0 - 5 VDC signal, so 0 - 16380.

I have a feed source of water, which varies but bounces around 1,800 to 2,400 uS. I want the desired product (from the component) to be 300 uS. The component will utilize the power controller signal to increase/decrease the power required to get the 300 uS output. Ideally, I'd want to have this 300 value be a number that I key in from my HMI (which I have already set up).