You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 24th, 2005, 08:32 PM   #1
calla
Member
Canada

calla is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: beamsville
Posts: 2
Scalling AB IFE series C analog input card

I don't a lot of experience analog cards. This IFE analog input card has a spare channel I'd like to use. Today I used a 4-20mA signal from a level transmitter into the spare channel. The 4-20mA signal represents 0-100%. When I wired it to the analog in I had to play with the scaling the get the signal to match the digital display from the level transmitter. I had to set the raw scaliing min/max to 0-260 and it worked. Initially I thought I would just set the scaling to 0-100. Any thoughts?
  Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2005, 09:00 PM   #2
calla
Member
Canada

calla is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: beamsville
Posts: 2
Red face Help Anyone?

The 4-20mA signal is provided from a Endress & Hauser FMU 860 level transmitter. Why can't I just set the input scaling to 0-100 for 0-100%?
  Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2005, 09:00 PM   #3
GMc
Member
United States

GMc is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 125
calla,

See if this thread helps you..

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=15069

Gary
  Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2005, 02:27 AM   #4
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 15,747
The first tool in your box for this is the User Manual:

http://literature.rockwellautomation...m663_-en-p.pdf

Remember that the 1771-IFE is an ancient but durable design that comes from the PLC-2 days, so it has some quirks left over. The most significant of those is that the scaling factors must be entered in BCD format, even if you are using 2's Complement Binary as the data format. If you are using scaling on one channel, you have to use scaling on all channels and send the full-size 37 word long configuration block.

Are you setting up the scaling in an RSLogix 5 wizard, or manually in the Block Transfer Write data source block?
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Analog input issue! NoName LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 July 8th, 2004 05:10 AM
Micro Logix 1000 Analog input comparision mikewood LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 June 21st, 2004 01:41 PM
Siemens Analog Input and PT 100 RTD Labotomi LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 January 23rd, 2004 06:54 PM
analog input and output tomkens LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 December 25th, 2003 04:55 AM
AB output card question djw LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 November 1st, 2003 09:12 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 AM.


.