E-Stop to an STO?

jakeparsons03

I have 2 PF525 drives where the client wants to use the STO function. I have very little experience with this function, but I need to make it work. My understanding is that the STO inputs on the drive run to an external safety relay and are hooked onto the NO contacts. I assume that I put the E-Stop on the coil side of the SR, however, that doesn't seem to make too much sense. Why would you add an unnecessary relay when you could just run through the E-Stop and be done with it?.

Also to add some more information, the drives are going to be ran over ethernet.

Safety relays are often smart with internal tests of short circuits and similar, that is potentially one reason.
Another reason is that maybe its described like that in the manual and if the manufacturer suggest it then you wont have to defend your other choice if/when shizzles hits the fan.

Functional safety of machinery is a huge topic, far beyond just how e-stop pushbuttons are wired to motor drives.

Decades ago we did largely what you described: an e-stop button with a pull or push-to-reset mechanism, wired to an Enable pin on a drive logic board.

But what if there was a short to +24V somewhere in the wiring, so the e-stop press didn't do anything ? What about a cross between the two circuits that pass through the button (if we used two channels at all). What if you pressed the button and the drive didn't stop as required; there was no way to tell that something was wrong with the circuit or the button. And after an emergency stop event, the machinery could start up automatically without a manual human action taken to reset the system, not just the mushroom-head button.

Safety relays are built to address those kinds of issues, with dual channels and short-circuit and cross-circuit detection and feedback monitoring and manual reset inputs.