![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
![]() |
||
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc. |
||
![]() |
![]() |
#1 |
Member
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 292
|
Locale message display problem RSView Studio
Hello,
I use RSView Studio ME and RSLogix5 to program a panelview 700 plus panel. I will using 16-bits of a word N7:0 to control a Locale message display. When example bit 0 (N7:0/0) is high message 1 will appear, bit 2 (N7:0/2) is high message 4 appear. The problem is when both bits are high a message 5 will appear. I want that first the lowest message bit appear (in this case bit 0) and when this bit is low the next bit whoīs high (in this case bit 2) appear in the locale message display. Who can help me? Greetings, mulderm
__________________
Netherlands |
![]() |
![]() |
#2 |
Member
|
You need to write code in your PLC to use your address value.
You should also use FBC to compare a table against your faults, and use a timer to scroll the constant alarms as they arrive. You need to write some simple logic like, IF ALARM is true, then SET N10:0/1 If N10:0/1 is TRUE, MOVE a 1 into ADDRESS N7:0 (Your PV+ Word) You have a lot of code to write to accomplish what you want. Hope this was semi-helpful. |
![]() |
![]() |
#3 |
Member
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 292
|
Yes, I know that I must write a lot of rungs.
Is there a better way? mulderm
__________________
Netherlands |
![]() |
![]() |
#4 |
Member
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 292
|
And what is the function of FBC?
Do you have an example? mulderm
__________________
Netherlands |
![]() |
![]() |
#5 |
Lifetime Supporting Member
|
In the PV setup use the LSB option for the message.
Regards Alan Case |
![]() |
![]() |
#6 | |
Member
|
Quote:
Having said that... I gave up on the LSB because I found it harder to change messages in a list and in the PLC as programming continued. I found it a lot more convenient to just write a number and then use that in a list indicator or multistate indicator. If the PLC5 is already programmed and all you're doing is updating the HMI, then LSB is fine. If you're writing the PLC program too, then you might want to consider how much you may need to change things during debug or startup before setting the displays up as LSB. But hey, what do I know... Frisians, eh! Paul Tolsma <g> |
|
![]() |
![]() |
#7 |
Member
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 292
|
Paul T,
I want to use a locale message display for the 16-bits (N7:0) and now I have some more bits (N7:1). I can use for each message a rung with a move instruction and for a sequence order. Example rung 1: when bit n7:0/15 is high then move 16 to N7:10 (message 16 in the Panelview). rung 2: when bit N7:0/14 is high then move 15 to N7:10 and further.... So I get the lowest message number on the screen. Problem: a lot of rungs I get in the program. Is there a better way to program? mulderm
__________________
Netherlands |
![]() |
![]() |
#8 |
Member
![]() ![]() Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Huddersfield
Posts: 212
|
You could write a small looping routine using JMP and LBL.
Rightshift(BSR) the bits in the word array you are testing, one at a time until the LSB = 1, each time it is not = 1 leftshift(BSL) a bit in a new word array (which initially has the LSB = 1, all other bits = 0) when the LSB in the tested word array =1 stop the routine and the new word array will have a unique 1 at the same position as the lowest on bit in the tested word. Make sure you only run the routine if the tested word array is not = 0 otherwise the program will stick in the loop forever. |
![]() |
![]() |
#9 |
Member
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 292
|
Burnerman,
Itīs sounds good. Can you send this peace of program making in RSLogix5? So Itīs better to understand. mulderm
__________________
Netherlands |
![]() |
![]() |
#10 |
Member
![]() ![]() Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Huddersfield
Posts: 212
|
Sorry, I don't have RSLogix on this PC. Have a go yourself and post a pdf of your logic. I and others here, I'm sure, will try and help you with it.
|
![]() |
![]() |
#11 |
Member
|
mulderm, the way that you're doing it is very common, and I've done that for years. You get used to it I guess!
Check the PanelView+ List Indicator object and Multistate Indicator object Help files for "LSB." This will display the desired message directly, based on the bit state and nothing else. So, you don't have to program any rungs in the PLC for it. |
![]() |
![]() |
#12 |
Member
|
Use the Multi-state indicator with a LSB trigger.
No extra PLC code is required. |
![]() |
![]() |
#13 |
Member
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 292
|
I will try for this tomorrow, so I let you know.
mulderm
__________________
Netherlands |
![]() |
![]() |
#14 |
Member
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 292
|
Wow,you are right.
I use the multi-state indicator with LSB-triggering and no program-code is used. Excellent! Thanks for the help. mulderm
__________________
Netherlands |
![]() |
![]() |
#15 |
Lifetime Supporting Member
|
Hmmm, I thought I said that in post 5.
Regards Alan Case |
![]() |
![]() |
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
RSView Studio => Siemens via ethernet | pwd666 | LIVE PLC Questions And Answers | 9 | February 9th, 2011 08:12 AM |
Test RSView Studio application on a RIO network | mulderm | LIVE PLC Questions And Answers | 3 | September 19th, 2006 04:41 PM |
RSView Studio Help | anks | LIVE PLC Questions And Answers | 4 | June 21st, 2006 11:26 AM |
Panelbuilder 32 to RSView Studio | russrmartin | LIVE PLC Questions And Answers | 1 | June 9th, 2006 01:39 PM |
ENI - Inview message display configuration | Daggi | LIVE PLC Questions And Answers | 0 | April 21st, 2003 11:59 AM |