Local message display

TVran

Is there a way to add a local message display to Studio 5000 View Designer? If its there, I’m not finding it. I have used them in older versions and would like to use one in the new project I am working on. I’m really new with this version and I’m not finding anything in the knowledge base.
Thanks

If you are looking to make messages with text stroked locally in display and called by a tag value, similar to a multistage indicator in PV+, then in View Designer you can use a Text Display. On the Animation Tab specify the tag and different text messages. However, these messages can’t have embedded variables.

I tried a text display last week and got an error. I tried it again this morning and now it works like I wanted it to. Not sure what I did wrong last week. Now I need to make about 600 states. Thanks

I have no idea as I’m very new to this software. I was retired for 16 months but got a great offer to come back to work on projects. Baby steps learning this View version. Was a lot more familiar with the older View versions.

Yikes, 600 states...
Can you export/import with View Designer?
You can prepare states in Excel and paste them to the Animation Editor.

I was retired for 16 months but got a great offer to come back to work on projects.
Haha, I am heading in the opposite (correct) direction and not planning to come back :cool:

A 600-state Local Message style display ? That's going to be a challenge, and it would be neat to discuss the process and specifics here on PLCTalk.net. I am a veteran FactoryTalk View user but have only done two projects with View Designer and the PanelView 5000.

I think the first important questions hase been asked; does the display use embedded variables in the text ?