You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 11th, 2019, 01:11 PM   #31
g.mccormick
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

g.mccormick is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: IN
Posts: 632
Automation direct prodictivity series or brx series.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2019, 03:02 PM   #32
seth350
Member
United States

seth350 is offline
 
seth350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Over yonder
Posts: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by amberman View Post
I mean the addressing of the I/O via the Ethernet/IP coupler using Logix.
Generally, WORDs are brought into the PLC in the size that you configured for your Generic Ethernet/IP Device. You then need to matchup what each bit in the WORDs indicate. An EDS file is helpful or manufactures manual for figuring out whats what.
Same goes for the output as well.


If you want a high density and small footprint Ethernet/IP bus coupler with integration software for AB Compact/Contrologix PLCs, then take a look at what B&R has to offer.

A piece of software is provided to configure your B&R rack. Configure what modules you need and also label IO points. It will generate an .L5K file that you can then open and copy the ethip module and UDTs over to your project.
In your controller organizer, all of the IO you labeled is there as well.

I think what geniusintraining meant was that only AB solutions will "easily" integrate with Studio.


Back to the topic,
I would have to go with a Schneider PLC or Automation Direct Productivity or BRX.
__________________
“Did the Lord say that machines outta take the place of livin’, and what’s the substitute for bread and beans? Do engines get rewarded for their steam?” -John Henry
  Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2019, 03:04 PM   #33
Rson
Member
United States

Rson is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by seth350 View Post
Generally, WORDs are brought into the PLC in the size that you configured for your Generic Ethernet/IP Device.


If you want a high density and small footprint Ethernet/IP bus coupler with integration software for AB Compact/Contrologix PLCs, then take a look at what B&R has to offer.

A piece of software is provided to configure your B&R rack. Configure what modules you need and also label IO points. It will generate an .L5K file that you can then open and copy the ethip module and UDTs over to your project.
In your controller organizer, all of the IO you labeled is there as well.

I think what geniusintraining meant was that only AB solutions will "easily" integrate with Studio.


Back to the topic,
I would have to go with a Schneider PLC or Automation Direct Productivity or BRX.
Yes, you generally get words into the PLC.

Just make a ladder that distributes them into DINTS with the BTD command. Remote IO is really the best option, IMO.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2019, 11:04 PM   #34
seth350
Member
United States

seth350 is offline
 
seth350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Over yonder
Posts: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rson View Post
Yes, you generally get words into the PLC.

Just make a ladder that distributes them into DINTS with the BTD command. Remote IO is really the best option, IMO.
Indeed.
__________________
“Did the Lord say that machines outta take the place of livin’, and what’s the substitute for bread and beans? Do engines get rewarded for their steam?” -John Henry
  Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2019, 07:15 AM   #35
chantecler
Member
Venezuela

chantecler is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Caracas
Posts: 9
Just want to say thanks for your recommendations. The project has been delayed due to a higher priority one that is utilizing the resources.

The machine is still working with a temporary fix I made to the CPU.

I downloaded and installed free CODESYS and I'm trying learn it as I have the time. I'm still inclined towards AutomationDirect though.

Thanks again

Bye
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PLC to replace spark detection/suppression system in LP ducting, good idea or bad? SolarNinja LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 17 January 7th, 2017 10:03 PM
PLC AND fiber optic Recommendation..... escoplcguy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 25 February 10th, 2011 04:41 PM
PC to PLC Protocol TheRixta LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 December 17th, 2008 12:56 PM
nais plc fan inzahgi LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 August 5th, 2005 03:46 AM
PLC Recommendation For PID Control? qee LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 April 9th, 2004 09:59 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 AM.


.