You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 25th, 2014, 03:18 PM   #1
cburns6
Member
United States

cburns6 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 6
Batch Simulator with Alternating motors

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
I have reached my final project in my PLC class with a teacher that doesnt know what hes doing so i have learned very little during this class.

I have been assigned to program the Batch Simulator Exercise that requires two pumps to alternate, only working 5 seconds each, and fill a tank as well as a pump to empty the tank.

If anyone has some information please let me know, thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20141125_151313_304.jpg (44.8 KB, 95 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2014, 03:29 PM   #2
PLC Pie Guy
Member
Canada

PLC Pie Guy is offline
 
PLC Pie Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Halifax
Posts: 720
Two quick things.

If you show what work you have done towards achieving your goal, more will offer you some assistance.

Its a pretty bold statement for a student to comment that a teacher does not know what he is doing in a PLC class. You better hope he is not a member of this site. I can tell you that most people in the Automation industry use this site at some point or another in careers or at least know of the site.

Showing effort = getting help.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2014, 03:39 PM   #3
cburns6
Member
United States

cburns6 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 6
I can guarantee that my teacher knows nothing about the subject. He is just a last minute fill in for the semester so all he has done is read power points that were given to him by the teacher.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2014, 03:45 PM   #4
dlweber
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dlweber is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: PA/OH
Posts: 405
That if you read the directions "seconds" or any other reference to time is not mentioned. If it happens to only take 5 second to fill the tank that is irrelevant to the project.

To put it nicely asking a forum for people to do your project for you, and that it seems you only skimmed the directions, doesn't provide much evidence to support your claim that it is the teachers fault you didn't learn anything. I would recommend that you stay away from independent study classes.

EDIT: In my experience final projects in classes were meant for you to go outside the box and do some of your own research.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2014, 03:53 PM   #5
cburns6
Member
United States

cburns6 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 6
The "seconds" were an instruction added by the teacher, saying to let each pump run for 5 seconds. Obviously I had to add that in the text because the picture didn't show it
  Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2014, 03:56 PM   #6
cburns6
Member
United States

cburns6 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 6
And the whole reason I found this site is because I was trying to do some research to figure it out. But nice try lol
  Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2014, 03:56 PM   #7
Luke_Mages
Member
United States

Luke_Mages is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by cburns6 View Post
I can guarantee that my teacher knows nothing about the subject. He is just a last minute fill in for the semester so all he has done is read power points that were given to him by the teacher.
If you at least come up with a draft of how you think it should work we will be more than happy to help you. But you have to at least show us something...
  Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2014, 03:58 PM   #8
Luke_Mages
Member
United States

Luke_Mages is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by cburns6 View Post
The "seconds" were an instruction added by the teacher, saying to let each pump run for 5 seconds. Obviously I had to add that in the text because the picture didn't show it
well if that's the case you're screwed because you don't have the right tools in the toolbox shown in your picture to do anything in terms of seconds....
  Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2014, 06:07 PM   #9
Lancie1
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Lancie1 is offline
 
Lancie1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 10,002
A lot of the information to solve this problem is contained in the LogixPro Simulator software, and in the Student Problem Exercises for the LogixPro Batch Simulation.

The LogixPro Batch Simulation exercises have been discussed on this site numerous times in previous threads.

Do a site "Advanced Search" for "batch simulator", and you will find plenty of old threads about this problem. I have posted many solutions to many variations of the problems, and there are solutions in the "Downloads" section (see top menu bar).

There is not a problem solution exactly like your problem. I can tell you that you need to modify the normal Batch Mix Advanced Exercise 1 (where you use 2 pumps to fill the tank) and use 2 counters, C5:1 to count Pump 1 tank fillings, and C5:2 to count Pump 2 tank fillings.

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/search....archid=3776859

Last edited by Lancie1; November 25th, 2014 at 07:03 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2014, 09:23 PM   #10
sonjacksy
Member
India

sonjacksy is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: india
Posts: 32
hello sir, do you have more questions in plc programming like this then please send me the scanned image of them please. my email id is kcaj_son97@rediffmail.com.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2014, 03:26 AM   #11
Joel201
Member
Philippines

Joel201 is offline
 
Joel201's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Calamba City
Posts: 151
First of all ask yourself if you have any idea about ladder diagrams or any other plc language because it will be difficult for you to answer a PLC question/exercise without knowledge on any PLC language. In case you don't have any idea on any PLC language maybe your not in a PLC class. For research maybe you should search sequential electrical wiring diagrams so that you think how your question/exercise be put into a sequential form.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2014, 10:00 AM   #12
Lancie1
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Lancie1 is offline
 
Lancie1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 10,002
Quote:
The "seconds" were an instruction added by the teacher, saying to let each pump run for 5 seconds. Obviously I had to add that in the text because the picture didn't show it
You cannot easily "let each pump run 5 seconds" with the addresses and devices on the included list of addresses to use. That list does not include an address for a timer. It is obvious that the original problem meant for each pump to run until the tank is full. You need to get this conflict resolved by your instructor. He either needs to add a timer address to the list, or delete the 5 second requirement. Otherwise you cannot solve the problem by following the given instructions.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2014, 10:04 AM   #13
dlweber
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dlweber is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: PA/OH
Posts: 405
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lancie1 View Post
You cannot easily "let each pump run 5 seconds" with the addresses and devices on the problem list of addresses to use. That list does not include an address for a timer. It is obvious that the original problem meant for each pump to run until the tank was full. You need to get this conflict resolved by your instructor. He either needs to add a timer address to the list, or delete the 5 second requirement.
I would just be the wise guy and make both programs and turn them both in asking him which he wants
  Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2014, 10:16 AM   #14
Lancie1
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Lancie1 is offline
 
Lancie1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 10,002
Quote:
I would just be the wise guy and make both programs and turn them both in asking him which he wants
There is another problem with that. If you try the 5-second limit, you soon find that it takes LESS than 5 seconds for the tank to completely fill using only 1 pump. In fact, the fill time varies depending on what speed you use. If you set the "speed" at 40% of full scan rate, then the tanks fills in approximately 5 seconds. Maybe that is what he wants - use the LogixPro "Scans" rate to set the time at 5 seconds to fill the tank using 1 pump. Because LogixPro is a simulation, the scans speed depends on the speed of the underlying computer microprocessor.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2014, 10:27 AM   #15
dlweber
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dlweber is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: PA/OH
Posts: 405
Yeah I remember something like that I haven't used the simulator for over year (like the OP is now, I was in school then)

We never used timers for those unless a deliberate delay was need, say a settling time for the contents of the tank, mostly because of the issue you mentioned and the theory was you wouldn't slow your PLC down in the field (there might be a case where you would but I would assume that is a very specialized need) we won't do it here.

If we would of had to make a timer for something like this we would have timed the process first then made a timer to match whatever % of full run time we needed.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
alternating a drive on multiple motors DRThorne LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 29 May 17th, 2017 02:53 PM
VFD to 2 motors. Alternating run time g.mccormick LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 41 September 26th, 2013 09:21 AM
Possibillities new project, MP277 317-2PN/DP Combo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 19 July 28th, 2008 03:40 AM
SErvo Vs AC motors haythame78 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 March 10th, 2005 11:43 AM
120 volt speed control cciblazer LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 October 4th, 2003 03:45 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 AM.


.