You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 14th, 2019, 02:06 AM   #1
Kataeb
Member
Lebanon

Kataeb is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: www.livelovelebanon.com
Posts: 465
replace OP25 by new hmi keeping S5 plc

We have a CPU S5 115 with an OP 25 .
Can we replace the OP25 by a new hmi touch panel? which type?

Communication is done using V24/TTY-interface IF1A PLC-interface.
Can we add a converter from TTY to Profibus (or to Profinet)? for the new hmi connection to the CPU S5 115 plc.
__________________

"character may be manifested in the great moments, but it is made in the small ones"
  Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2019, 05:45 AM   #2
sigmadelta
Member
Canada

sigmadelta is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: From Canada - Living in Bulgaria
Posts: 833
Take a look at Red Lion and Proface HMIs.
__________________
Freelance Automation Programmer
  Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2019, 05:56 AM   #3
Kataeb
Member
Lebanon

Kataeb is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: www.livelovelebanon.com
Posts: 465
Our customer prefers Siemens hmi's.
__________________

"character may be manifested in the great moments, but it is made in the small ones"
  Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2019, 06:00 AM   #4
sigmadelta
Member
Canada

sigmadelta is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: From Canada - Living in Bulgaria
Posts: 833
Then there is no modern solution. The last Siemens HMI to use S5 AS511 serial protocol is the OP270 (with rs-232 to TTY adapter). You'll have to look on sites like eBay for them.
__________________
Freelance Automation Programmer

Last edited by sigmadelta; March 14th, 2019 at 06:03 AM. Reason: Op270 is possible
  Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2019, 07:34 AM   #5
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 13,624
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kataeb View Post
Communication is done using V24/TTY-interface IF1A PLC-interface.
Can we add a converter from TTY to Profibus (or to Profinet)? for the new hmi connection to the CPU S5 115 plc.
Yep, there is this clever device:
https://www.ibhsoftec.com/epages/634...Products/20284

So you can go online with ANY device that speaks S7 via ethernet.
Mind you, that on the other side of the adapter it is still a paltry 9600 bps. So dont setup too many tags and/or too high update frequency.

Sigmadelta, also x277 devices can connect to AS511 via an RS422/TTY adapter. But that also means you have to find an old OP277 or MP277 on ebay. Buying a new from Siemens is prohibitively expensive.
__________________
Jesper
See my profile interests for Q&A
  Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2019, 08:09 AM   #6
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 13,624
Kataeb, if you have a Protool project, and you decide to use the IBH adapter, you can migrate it to a recent Siemens panel like this:

(it does take a bit of effort !!)
With Protool, migrate OP25 to OP270.
With WinCC Flexible 2008 SP2 (not SP3 or later) migrate the OP270 to OP277.
With WinCC Flexible 2008 convert the online connection from S5 to S7.
All the tags will have to be checked. Just leave them as "dummy" tags for now.
With TIA V14 or earlier (not V15 or later) and with WinCC Flexible 2008 SP3 or SP5, migrate the OP277 to a comfort panel.
Follow IBHs instructions on how to setup all the tags so that they get interpreted as S5 tags with proper address in the S5 PLC.
And then you should be good to go. All tags, screens, alarms etc must be checked up
__________________
Jesper
See my profile interests for Q&A
  Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2019, 08:48 AM   #7
Kataeb
Member
Lebanon

Kataeb is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: www.livelovelebanon.com
Posts: 465
Thank you
Which comfort panel is closest to the OP25 ?
__________________

"character may be manifested in the great moments, but it is made in the small ones"
  Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2019, 09:33 AM   #8
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 13,624
Kp700.

I suggest: Do all the migration work, and the test with a simulated KP700 that everything works as intended.
I dont have experience with the IBH device myself.
__________________
Jesper
See my profile interests for Q&A

Last edited by JesperMP; March 14th, 2019 at 09:35 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2019, 02:29 PM   #9
sigmadelta
Member
Canada

sigmadelta is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: From Canada - Living in Bulgaria
Posts: 833
Thanks, Jesper. I didn't remember which was the last panel to support S5, and I didn't have WinCC flex handy to open at the time.
__________________
Freelance Automation Programmer
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connect Q02H PLC to HMI Proface anhtuandrg LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 January 29th, 2016 03:22 AM
Problem connecting Weintek HMI to PLC using Modbus TCP/IP TahirQ LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 January 21st, 2014 05:47 AM
AB HMI to PLC dropped ethernet connection roamex LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 September 11th, 2013 09:07 AM
Plc suggestion aec LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 36 January 2nd, 2012 12:56 AM
I/O Comm. problem btw PLC & HMI WFox LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 December 31st, 2003 01:09 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 AM.


.